video card and direct x10 question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2007, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default video card and direct x10 question

hey... thanks if your reading this

sooo... I got a system a while back that i thought had a good video card in it, but as it turns out has crappy integrated graphics, and cannot seem to run games very well...
so I"m looking at buying a new card and i wanted to know if this card would work with my system:

Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail


------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 8/12/2007, 20:42:15
Machine name: CLARK-PC
Operating System: Windows Vistaô Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_rtm.061101-2205)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: HP-Pavilion
System Model: RK570AA-ABA m7760n
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.1GHz
Memory: 2038MB RAM
Page File: 1444MB used, 2848MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 10
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 6.00.6000.16386 32bit Unicode


--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: Intel(R) 82945G Express Chipset Family
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Intel(R) 82945G Express Chipset Family
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2772&SUBSYS_2A50103C&REV_02
Display Memory: 224 MB
Dedicated Memory: 0 MB
Shared Memory: 224 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
Driver Name: igdumd32.dll
Driver Version: 7.14.0010.1227 (English)
DDI Version: 9Ex
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 3/6/2007 12:24:20, 2363392 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B78E66-6432-11CF-4777-5A0AA3C2CA35}
Vendor ID: 0x8086
Device ID: 0x2772
SubSys ID: 0x2A50103C
Revision ID: 0x0002
Revision ID: 0x0002
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_103C2A50& REV_1000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5322 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
Date and Size: 11/8/2006 12:09:24, 1647976 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0x0
Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

Description: Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_103C2A50& REV_1000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5322 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
Date and Size: 11/8/2006 12:09:24, 1647976 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0x0
Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

---------------------
Sound Capture Devices
---------------------
Description: Microphone (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Capture: Yes
Default Voice Capture: Yes
Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5322 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 11/8/2006 12:09:24, 1647976 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

Description: Line In (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5322 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 11/8/2006 12:09:24, 1647976 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

Description: Analog Audio In (Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC Combo)
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name: {0.0.1.00000000}.{5eb97959-fb46-41e5-8259-79d01576ae8c}
Driver Version: ()
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: , 0 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

Description: DigitalIn (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5322 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 11/8/2006 12:09:24, 1647976 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

I do know that my computer has one pci-express slot , if that helps

( sorry...I had to cut a LOT out of the report due to a character limit..)

also, i was wondering because that video card supports directx10 would i run into any problems with that? would i be able to play games like oblivion, etc. etc.... starcraft 2?


thank you VERY much for reading this
__________________

pianoplayer is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

The card will run on your HP. It can play games like Oblivion and SC2.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

yes it will work just fine.
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

thank you very much
I read an article on dx10 that said older games MAY be compatible with dx10, so I wasn't sure ...
but thank you that cleared the matter up... now to save up 270 dollars, and im sure i don't know but im assuming it will need a new power supply...?
pianoplayer is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

Whats the amperage on the 12V rail?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

ehh
it says it will need a 400 watt power supply
thats more than i have... man .. I'm only 16
hahah
pianoplayer is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

I'm 16 too. No sweat. How many watts does the power supply have?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

I'm not sure...I think its a 350 watt (i presume your talking about the power supply I currently have) ... and the one required for that card is 400 or so
mannn
money money money
pianoplayer is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

Need a recommendation? Actually, no. You have to double check the HP main power connector on the motherboard. It might be proprietary.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 01:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: video card and direct x10 question

yeah... ok well i'm a "noob" at all of this .. so I tommorow I will unhook the side of the case? and check the cable?
__________________

pianoplayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video card??? igamer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-23-2007 06:53 PM
Intel entering the graphic card market? b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-08-2007 07:11 AM
Question about Dirext X plumber4578 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-24-2007 08:22 PM
emachines with no video tdma5 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-22-2007 04:17 PM
If i get vista, should i get DX10 card? spartan1121 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-05-2007 05:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.