video card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 08:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Adam123
Yeah go with the GT. I think I heard somwhere that the 5500 doesnt even USE all of the 256. I could be mistaken though.
You're right. The 5500 doesn't have the clockspeeds OR the pipelines to use all 256MB.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 10:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah, the FX series was kindof a joke they hoped people would bite on. I mean, for their time I'm sure they did what they needed, but the excess ram is for the people that read '256MB' and think, "OH! That's one of the BEST video cards! And for HOW MUCH? You gotta deal!"

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 09:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wedgeofcheese
I am looking to upgrade
________________________________________
I would like to upgrade my HP Digital Entertainment Center z540's video card. I simply would like to upgrade for a better gaming experience. The video card I am looking at is the eVGA e-GeForce 7800 GT CO 256MB PCI-E w/ Dual DVI, VIVO. I have recently looked inside the z540 and it appears that this particular card will not fit, or will it? To me it doesn’t look like it will fit inside the computer, but that is my question...will it fit? Also if the card does not fit are there compact versions of the card on the market and if not, would it be possible to purchase a regular pc case and transfer my HP z540's components to that one?

Thanks
Samuel
Well, first. Does your computer have the right slot? It must have a PCI-E, not just PCI. Second, you most likely will be able to transfer to another case, but you should find out what size case you need. When you upgrade to the better card, you may also need to upgrade your PS, so keep that in mind as well. And finally, I don't think they make compacted verisons of the 6600Gt; atleast, not yet.....


EDIT: Wow, when I frist started to post this wedgeofcheese was the last poster.....It's a wonder what can happen while you type
__________________

__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.