video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 76
Default video card

what card would be better
6600gt 128mb or gforcei think 5500 256 mb?
so gt 128 mb or 256 but no gt?
__________________

tailshe is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

6600GT it has more pipelines faster clock speeds, memory isnt the only thing and i believe the GT has GDDR3 while the FX only has DDR
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 03:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I am looking to upgrade
________________________________________
I would like to upgrade my HP Digital Entertainment Center z540's video card. I simply would like to upgrade for a better gaming experience. The video card I am looking at is the eVGA e-GeForce 7800 GT CO 256MB PCI-E w/ Dual DVI, VIVO. I have recently looked inside the z540 and it appears that this particular card will not fit, or will it? To me it doesn’t look like it will fit inside the computer, but that is my question...will it fit? Also if the card does not fit are there compact versions of the card on the market and if not, would it be possible to purchase a regular pc case and transfer my HP z540's components to that one?

Thanks
Samuel
wedgeofcheese is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

The FX series certainly wasn't nVidia's shining moment. Go with the GT.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 05:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Yeah go with the GT. I think I heard somwhere that the 5500 doesnt even USE all of the 256. I could be mistaken though.
Adam123 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 07:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
6600GT it has more pipelines faster clock speeds, memory isnt the only thing and i believe the GT has GDDR3 while the FX only has DDR
yea the GT has GDDR3 memory...also if you look around you can find a 256mb 6600GT
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

wedge of cheese needs to quit posting his stupid remark about his freakin media computer... He has his own thread... if someone could stop him from posting for a while, that would be great.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I would like to upgrade my HP Digital Entertainment Center z540's video card. I simply would like to upgrade for a better gaming experience. The video card I am looking at is the eVGA e-GeForce 7800 GT CO 256MB PCI-E w/ Dual DVI, VIVO. I have recently looked inside the z540 and it appears that this particular card will not fit, or will it? To me it doesn’t look like it will fit inside the computer, but that is my question...will it fit? Also if the card does not fit are there compact versions of the card on the market and if not, would it be possible to purchase a regular pc case and transfer my HP z540's components to that one?

Thanks
Samuel

__________________
ONE



^^ ONE is his sig, as you can see theres two ______ lines
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Oh. Haha didnt see that, yeah, its annoying, and nobody will answer you that way, so don't put it up.
__________________

Adam123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.