Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2007, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
Default Video Card

It's coming tomaorw and i have intgregrted gfx now, so do i have to do anyhtin got my old one or just plug my new one in. I have an open pci-e slot
__________________

ranran is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Video Card

What you do, is you install the graphic card, and when you get in, disable the onboard in control panel > system > hardware > device manager > find your onboard > right click > click properties > and disable. After this, it will prompt for a restart. So after you restart, go to the Nvidia or AMD website. Which ever is your new card, and download the latest driver. Or you could disable first and install the graphic card, and then download latest drivers.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Video Card

I usually download the drivers first so I don't have to look at a mis-sized desktop any longer than I have to.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 11:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,512
Default Re: Video Card

When i installed my card, it disasbled onboard automatically for me =).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 06-22-2007, 01:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Video Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
When i installed my card, it disasbled onboard automatically for me =).
That's usually how it goes now--very few boards don't do this. So you should only have to install it and then your card's drivers and you're fine.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card Snake91839 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-02-2007 11:03 AM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM
Best silent video card spartan1121 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-26-2007 05:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.