Video Captureing and Harddrives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2006, 08:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default Video Captureing and Harddrives

OKay i have one of two questions i would like to know what card would be used to make Video Captured Videos like and i think that a capture card is only used for tV's and other things but u would have to have two PC's if i'm correct and I have looking into ATi cards and i'm not sure if they have an Encoder Program so i can capture videos off of my computer... soo what graphics card do i need to do this or what equipment do i need to make these videos from my PC

My other question is about Harddrives i would like to purchase a 160 gig harddrive but it is SATA and right now i have 2 harddrives both IDE i have one hardrive that is 100gig i would like to know if i can have a IDE a SLAVE to the new 160 gig SATA harddrive can u have a SATA and an IDE or does it have to be SATA and SATA or IDE and IDE only...??? Please respond!

Purplehaze1989 is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 09:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

you sound very confused. SATA is completely different to IDE if your not aware. you can't connect them to the same cable without an adapater. do you have SATA ports on your pc? if not the simplest solution would be to just get an IDE drive. but you could get a SATA drive and a SATA controller card. it may be possible to slave an IDE drive to a SATA drive using a SATA to IDE adapter but i can't guarantee it.

exactly what kind of videos are you trying to capture? gameplay? or video tutorials or something else?

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2

Umm Gameplay of BF2 F.E.A.R. like high end games and i might just go ahead and buy 2 SATA drives and sell the 2 IDE drives i have now and plus my motherboard is SATA it has Sata slots i jsut gotta figure out how to hook them up but thank you for that information but please help me with my Video Question
Purplehaze1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.