Vid card for friend - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Vid card for friend

Hey, my friend wants to upgrade his video card. All I know is that he has this mobo - http://www.msi.com.tw/html/service/t...6547/page1.htm

and his current video card is a GeForce4 mx440

He needs a better video card. Any suggestions?

He only has an AGP 4X/2X slot, is PCI better than this?
__________________

Matt08642 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Depends.

Does he actually game? Or does he want something to brag about?

If he just uses IE and Photoshop, then what he has is fine. If he actually plays games, get at least 256MB video card.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

ummm... yea. First off, dont get a pci card. Just dont. And, secondly, a video card alone will not make that thing run games. If his mobo is that...slow, then i cant imagine what his cpu speed is. Get on his computer and open internet explorer(not firefox) and go to google, type in windows game advisor. open the first result. Click start, then click the my game advisor tab at the top. Hit the scan or start or whatever button starts it. Let it install everything, and it will tell you about his cpu, ram, suond card, ect... and post what you get.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default

I don't have access to his computer, but he has some 1.6GHz Intel processor. I suggested a new computer to him, but he really doesn't want to do that.
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

oh boy, that CPU sounds horrible. but if it is neccessary, you could get like a 6600 gt agp for around 100 bucks.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 01:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
If he actually plays games, get at least 256MB video card.

Dude you have to stop saying that!!! "get at least 256MB video card." Just cause a card has 256mb don't mean it's better,With most card's now you won't find that much of a difference if any between 128mb and 256mb,Most newer card's can't even use the whole amount of ram anyway's except for real HEAVY DUTY game's
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.