vid card for agp 4x/8x near 160$ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2005, 08:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default vid card for agp 4x/8x near 160$

Looking for a vid card that will work with my agp slot. the mobo is only 4x but im got a new mobo which is 8x and need to stay with agp.

i use new egg to purchase and i have some questions as well. when they list vid cards many of them will not show memory clock and core clock. why is this? what are the things to look for in a vid card?

heres the ones im thinking about getting.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150106

and

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133137

please help me make this choice.
__________________

duckey is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 09:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

AGP is going to be phased out. The process has already begin. I recommend buying a PCI-E motherboard along with a PCI-E card. I would not buy XFX or PNY. Go with EVGA, MSI, or GIGABYTE.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

grrr. im always on the late end of this phasing out stuff.

ill get a pci-e mobo then. if i get a sli mobo will i only be able to use nvidia cards?

btw was reading review of mobos and someone said there mobo came doa. what does that mean dead on arrival? if so cant they just send it back?
duckey is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by duckey
ill get a pci-e mobo then. if i get a sli mobo will i only be able to use nvidia cards?

btw was reading review of mobos and someone said there mobo came doa. what does that mean dead on arrival? if so cant they just send it back?
To SLI, Yes

DOA = Dead on Arrival - YES
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 10:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

Off topic: If you have a doa mobo how can you tell? I mean I bought a mobo off ebay and my step dad says I can not use it unless I have a 3ghz proccesor. I think hes bssing me and doesnt want to admit he got jyped off ebay. When we put the mobo in nothing happened. I thought it was dead and he was like uhh no its just not the right processor.
duckey is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 10:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Check the specifications of the motherboard at the vendors homepage. See what it can handle and work from there. Its all about the process of elimination and if there is nothing left and your leaning toward the mobo, then I would RMA the board and move on.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 10:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

RMA? Can't guess that one at the moment, but thanks for all the help.
duckey is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 10:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Return Merchandise Authorization

http://whatis.techtarget.com/definit...214330,00.html
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 10:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

Thanks.
duckey is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 10:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Anytime.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.