Via C3 Samual 2 Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default Via C3 Samual 2 Processor

Anyone used one? Anyone used a Via processor AT ALL? I mean, I'm not expecting a gaming machine here... This is kindof a weird deal. I read in the PDF File TD is providing that they go to like 800mhz... I had someone tell me this one is 1ghz.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...9660&CatId=190

I am building low-low-budget machines for a few people in college, and this might be a good deal. If the architechture is almost identical to a Pentium 3 efficiency, I don't know if I want it, but if it's slightly more efficient, perhaps a 1.3 or 1.4ghz effective, it is EXACTLY what I'm looking for. I also googled this processor and other websites are advertising it as the "Via C3 Samual 2 2000+," which leads me to believe that it could be extremely efficient. Opinions, speculation, everyone welcome to say anything, go ahead.

Other websites advertising it as a "2000+":
http://www.pcchipsusa.com/prod-m789cluv12.asp
or
http://crgsales.com/pro431387.html

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I think you can only get those as ONBOARD processors (welded to the motherboard) on cheaper motherboards. I've seen them selling for around 70 bucks on eBay. I might be getting one soon for a cheap build...
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 08:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Yeah, it's soldered on there, I know that. I was just wondering if anybody used them and how they performed.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 08:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Default

sorry dont know about the cpu, but what kinda price range are you looking at,
if those are any good at all, you could put together a system for next to nothing.
your looking at a sytem with the high end parts being the keyboard monitor and speakers
BRreed is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 09:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Motheboard & processor are 75 bucks... You can't argue with that. Then a cheap stick of ram. You have a computer for 100 bucks... Add a case, hard drive, and optical drive and you're good to go. The best part is that no parts are e-bayed or used.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 09:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Via chips run really efficiently. they're not designed to be fast, but they use little power and produce little heat
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 11:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

hmm... I'm thinking mild overclock potential, but I'm not sure. I mean, even if I can bring up to speed a little bit. It should take a little bit of the lead out of its shoes...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 03:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

apokalipse is right. the main point of the C3 chip is that it runs really cool compared to its counterparts. i think the C3 is basically s370. i think the p-rating on this though is very tricky. kinda like how AMD used to base their p-rating on the thunderbird and then changed to base it on the P4 i think the C3 p-rating is based on the original Cyrix or something like that :O
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.