Value Cpu/MB for a media center? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2009, 05:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

This annihilates the P4 in almost every way and its only $19
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 05:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
This annihilates the P4 in almost every way and its only $19
I guess you forgot the link?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 06:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
I guess you forgot the link?
Nah, I'm referring to his link... $19 more to annihilate one of the world's worst processors known to man-kind is a good deal to me
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 06:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Nah, I'm referring to his link... $19 more to annihilate one of the world's worst processors known to man-kind is a good deal to me
Agreed. The x2 is easily worth the extra cost.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 37
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

Buying cheap parts isn't always the best idea.. especially for key components such as the motherboard and the PSU. Odds are you'll end up with a paperweight.
SiMoNiZoR is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

In PSUs, I find that true. A bad psu might last a week or two then crap out on you.

With motherboards, I find they will almost always last a year or two regardless of how cheap/crappy they are. They will lack features, but they won't just stop working for a while. I've built prolly 10 systems for myself and others using ECS motherboards and only one is not working, and it stopped working 4 years after being built. And ECS is about as cheap as motherboards go.

Go open up a computer they sell at wal-mart. Half of them are ECS motherboards, and they almost always work for several years.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 10:46 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 37
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
In PSUs, I find that true. A bad psu might last a week or two then crap out on you.

With motherboards, I find they will almost always last a year or two regardless of how cheap/crappy they are. They will lack features, but they won't just stop working for a while. I've built prolly 10 systems for myself and others using ECS motherboards and only one is not working, and it stopped working 4 years after being built. And ECS is about as cheap as motherboards go.

Go open up a computer they sell at wal-mart. Half of them are ECS motherboards, and they almost always work for several years.
ECS is actually a good manufacturer.. why do you think so many companies use their boards?
SiMoNiZoR is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 01:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

^ i dont know about good, i would rate them about 4.5 out of 10. i had one of thier Nforce 570 sli boards die randomly on me. so now i try to steer clear of ECS.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 02:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiMoNiZoR View Post
ECS is actually a good manufacturer.. why do you think so many companies use their boards?
Because its cheap and gets the job done, allowing for more profits to the company.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 04:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 37
Default Re: Value Cpu/MB for a media center?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Because its cheap and gets the job done, allowing for more profits to the company.
yeah, and you know what wouldn't allow for more profits? A high failure rate.
__________________

SiMoNiZoR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netflix comes to Windows Media Center KSoD Polls 0 05-21-2009 11:15 PM
Vista SP1 Windows Media Center TV Pack Makes Search for TV Content Useless KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-21-2008 10:33 PM
Xbox Media Center Cross Platform Alpha Osiris Microsoft XBox 0 08-14-2008 07:01 PM
Confused about getting Media Center... Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-25-2007 07:22 PM
Interested in testing the next version of Windows Media Center? Now's your chance. Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-19-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.