Utterly Confused .. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2011, 11:08 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Default Re: Utterly Confused ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
It should be in the I/O ports section.

You'll be fine. All PCI-E x16 cards have to be the same width from the port to the back of the case.
I'm not worried about it fitting; there's no opening on that side of the case. I'm confused as how to I'll reach all the outputs.

Quote:
Another consideration you need to make, is that your Compaq case might not be big enough to fit the new card into, they do not give you much to work with when it comes to oem cases. The gigabyte GTX 260 card your looking at takes up two spaces which that looks o.k. but the length is 10.9" long so you might want to measure inside the case before you order it. You'll also need a 2x6 pin power connector. Any newer psu should have one
Will do. I'll measure it. Thanks.
__________________

Astro2525 is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 11:12 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Utterly Confused ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astro2525 View Post
I'm not worried about it fitting; there's no opening on that side of the case. I'm confused as how to I'll reach all the outputs.
.
On the back side of your pc, there's a plate that held in place with a screw, take the screw out, remove the plate to access the covers and remove the cover in front of where you going to place the video card
__________________

Joe C is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 11:28 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Default Re: Utterly Confused ..

OH! Wow, I feel stupid. Well, this forum has solved every problem I brought up. Probably the best feedback I've gotten in a while. Thanks everyone, a lot, I really appreciate it ^^.
Astro2525 is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 11:40 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Utterly Confused ..

Hey, I didn't get 6,900 posts from jerking off. :P I help all that want my helping.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 01:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Default Re: Utterly Confused ..

Another problem everyone . I'm lookin and I see that a GTX 260 requires 2 PCIE power supply connectors. How do I know if I have 2 PCI-E PSU connectors? Can you guys tell from the photos or do I have to open up my case again to check?

ALSO: I checked in on my BIO's. I can see but can't select the option for onboard video memory, but I can select Primary Video Graphics (or something along those lines.) It's currently on PCI, but I can change it to PCI, Onboard, and PCI-E. Should I just change it to PCI-E or ..?
Astro2525 is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 03:18 PM   #26 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Utterly Confused ..

With your current PSU I seriously doubt you have two PCI-E connectors. you may or may not have one. The connectors will be 6-pin or 6+2 pin:




Yes, setting it to PCI-E should be the right setting.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused Snake91839 Overclocking and Modding 17 07-30-2006 11:51 AM
im so confused asusman New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-24-2006 12:33 PM
iam very confused !!! maroon1 Internet Software and Browsers 1 03-29-2006 11:31 AM
I'm confused j4ckaL Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 10-22-2005 07:54 PM
im am confused ├ŽArchOAngel├Ž New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-28-2005 03:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.