Using USB to update BIOS? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2013, 01:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Using USB to update BIOS?

It can still be repairable if you can boot to a floppy or USB into DOS to manually flash it with their program.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 02:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 144
Default Re: Using USB to update BIOS?

That sounds great. I was able to put the bios on a usb, but when I ran it, it said Failed to read bios from rom status=1604. Would you know why its not working? thanks.
Untitled.jpg
__________________

kidmo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 02:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Using USB to update BIOS?

Either it's searching for the file that's not there, your bios has write protection on, or it's not the proper file.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 02:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 144
Default Re: Using USB to update BIOS?

I feel like its always you that helps me. Thanks a lot.
kidmo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 02:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Using USB to update BIOS?

Well I went to the Dell site itself and got the same file you have. It appears this thing needs to be flashed from within Windows unless somebody else has a better idea.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 03:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 144
Default Re: Using USB to update BIOS?

okay, I think I found someone who had the exact same problem. But honestly I don't know a lot about computers. This is what he had to say:"I did some more tests and succeeded in flashing the firmware to A09 version:
1) I ran the firmware tool on another computer, waiting for it to extract its data into temporary folder. When the extraction dialog box closed, I went to %TEMP%\ExtactTemp\ and copied the files to a FAT16 USB pendrive (sometimes the file default.rsp had an additional ".bak" extension; this needed to be renamed to "default.rsp").
2) I inserted the pendrive into a USB port of the L322X while powered off, disconnected the power cable, pressed the END key, reconnected the power cable and released the END key after 1 second. This caused the laptop to start automatically and directly boot the DOS flash utility on the pendrive.
3) The flash utility started reading the current BIOS and as expected, it failed and caused a restart. I kept repeating step 2 (tens of times) and the flash utility eventually succeeded in reading the ROM and completed the flash operation successfully."


Like my question is from step 1). How did he run the bios and extract it into a temporary folder? Thanks a lot for helping me.
kidmo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 04:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Using USB to update BIOS?

He did that within Windows on another PC or his own. The program they provide is meant to flash the bios from within Windows which is why it keeps erroring out.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 04:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 144
Default Re: Using USB to update BIOS?

Thank you soooooo much
__________________

kidmo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.