using a plasma tv as a monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2005, 08:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default using a plasma tv as a monitor

just bought a plasma tv th-42pe50b ring up there support centre and they said it wasnt possibe to this? why cant i just take a video composite cable out the back of my video card and plug it in to my plasma?
__________________

corradogang* is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

ewww, dont use composite, that plasma should definatley have a DVI input.
Please dont ruin your new display with composite connectors

EDIT: Ok, just checked it out. All it has is component and S-video.
On that note I would definatley go with the S-video input, even if that means buying a new graphics card.
-Joe
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

what do u mean by dvi input.

but i cant seem to see the s-video imput in the back of the plasma i know it has labels on it stating that some of the imputs are s-video
corradogang* is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

DVI is what most new LCD monitors use, its purely digital so there's barley any interference.

I think i saw a little adapter thing, that would split one connection into the composite and s-video. Most newer model graphics cards do this as well. btw what are you using for a gfx card?
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

just the one that came with the pc
corradogang* is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

Bad idea
__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

in what way is it a bad idea
corradogang* is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Is it onboard? Kinda need a model# to help me out.
-Joe
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 02:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

its a packard bell

model : OTUW-SAN

thanks for your help
corradogang* is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 03:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Will work should use DVI on a TV of that stature


However I do not recommend this and is not a good idea IMO don't want to burn your nice new TV.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.