Using parts? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2006, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to noEMO
Default Using parts?

Okay, so I'm building a new computer, and to save money, I'm buying a new 250GB HD, but in my current Dell computer, it has a 40GB HD, could I use the 40GB HD from my Dell on the new computer which I'm building from scratch? Would it be compatible or does Dell have a way of preventing you from doing that?

Also, could I use the Floppy Drive from my Dell on my new comp I'm building, because newegg keeps going out of stock on all the cheap floppy's and to save money I'd rather not spend 20$ on a floppy drive. So can I use the Floppy drive from the dell on my new comp?
__________________

noEMO is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

if that hard drive is ide you can use it on your new comp. as for the floppy i don't know? is it a regular floppy??? some dells use a peice of plastic, if its the range cable then you will propblaly have to use an ide port just make sure it has the floppy power connector and the floppy data cable and you're good to go
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 08:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Should be able to reformat the dell harddrive without problem, as well as reuse the floppy, opticals. Most of the drives, cards, and memory, cpu are reusable, because they are NOT the proprietary junk items like case/psu/mobo. But sometimes SOME of the cards may need Dell drivers. I "have" modded psu's and cases to accept OEM mobo's before, but it can be a pain to try reuse of those...cannot reuse the XP discs UNLESS you got a non-branded regular MS disc.
krazefinn is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to noEMO
Default

I just tore about the dell, the floppy is an actual floppy drive with the ribbon connector and what not. The hard drive is also a normal hard drive with the ribon connector.

So I assume they'll be good for use?
noEMO is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

yup then your good to go, i thought you had the floppy with the orange tape? that connects to the ide and has the power connector on it but your good to go, have fun i hate dell proprietary crap including their memory with the notches on the wrong side try to fit a dominator on a dell mobo
TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.