Using old desktop as a server Win2003) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

Hi, I bought a desktop replacement in a laptop not so long ago. Im wanting to use my old desktop pc as a server preferably running Win 2003 standard. I have acquired 3 copies from work which are no longer needed so i have been given permission and keys to use the license from my boss.

Anyway the reason i have 3 copies is the that the first 2 do not seem to work, when i try to install and i come to format the HDD (500gb ata) I get a message saying either my PC does not have enough memory or in is a corrupt disc. I have now 3 genuine copies and i get the same message from each so i cant be the discs. The PC posts showing 1gig ram which it has so as far as i can see thats fine. I tried to install XP and it and that went fine but it wont install win 2003. Any ideas? Anything?

Thanks in advance
__________________

drrocket is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

Anybody?
__________________

drrocket is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

what do you mean exacally when you say "it won't install"?
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

Well it boots to CD installs drivers then when it comes to the formatting stage before install it will not format. It says "unable to format partition either you do not have enough memory or some files are corrupt on the disc. This happens on all three discs, i have tried pulling out the ram and trying different ram but still the same. I have also partitioned the drive to just 10gig but still then same.

I tried to install xp pro which went fine, so I used this to format the drive which worked but when it came to actually installing 2003 on the formatted drive it would not copy over some install files and got stuck on DRIVERS.CAB. Im really puzzled.
drrocket is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 03:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

can anybody heelp?
drrocket is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 01:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

Well looks like im totally wasting my time here then
drrocket is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

it could possibly be that windows is having a hard time locating and using the right drivers for your sata drive. I installed windows vista just fine on a sata drive, but i recall that the earlier versions sometimes required you to put in your own drivers for any sata drive that you wanted to install the os on.
masteroc is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 04:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

yup sounds like 2K3 Server cant find the drivers for the sata disk.

Try and download the drivers then in bootup install the drivers for the disk and you should see the disk
morudy is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Question Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

sorry you seem to misunderstand. Its at setup with the blue screen it sees the drive ok as I can partition however it will not format any size partition of the drive. How could I insall a driver at this point before it has started to install?
drrocket is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 11:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: Using old desktop as a server Win2003)

Try searching free technet help site might give you ideas on what to try. This sounds like a problem that is 1 in a 1,000,000.
__________________

__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Windows Server 2003 Be Used As A Normal O.S On A Desktop PC callmewilson Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-24-2007 01:39 PM
friends really bad log..needs some major help here. Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 12-07-2007 09:44 AM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM
Convince me to build a server.....please jfenwick System Upgrades 5 10-30-2007 01:27 PM
Unbuntu desktop vs server krazieaznboi Linux and Open Source 5 07-03-2007 12:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.