Using an old computer case, will it work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2011, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Default Using an old computer case, will it work?

Hi,

I am looking to build a htpc and just noticed i had an old HP Pavilion 6611 from 1999 lol. Ive checked the parts and they are all useless for what i want to do except the case. Its compact and would not look to bulky around the living room.

I just am not 100% sure that a microATX board would fit in it?

The old board is 230mm x 236mm, which is not the specified 244 x 244 of an mATX. However i measured the case and there is definitely room for a 244 x 244 mobo.

Kind of feel like im gonna have to buy the board and hope it fits, and if not buy a case.

Is there any other way I could tell if it will work? I guess my main concerns are the screw holes lining up.

Heres a link to the specs if you guys see something i dont, i would love to hear from you. I cannot get any info on the motherboard at all.

HP Pavilion PC Model 6611 (AP) Product Specifications HP Pavilion 6611 Desktop PC (AP) - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

Thanks
Steve
__________________

steves85 is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Using an old computer case, will it work?

without actually looking at it we can only guess, but I think it will work.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: Using an old computer case, will it work?

Does the old board dimensions mean it is NOT a matx board, just curious if all matx had to be 244 x 244 spot on the dime?
steves85 is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Using an old computer case, will it work?

most manufacturers keep to the specification, but components made for brand name manufacturers can vary.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: Using an old computer case, will it work?

Thanks for your input slaymate, I'll let you know how it goes.
steves85 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get front case mic to work, help? braz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-01-2010 12:56 AM
will this case work? DAATH New Systems | Building and Buying 18 02-28-2009 05:58 PM
Need help getting case fan to work superJT Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 01-07-2009 05:19 PM
Will This Case Work With My MotherBored? AtLeast320GB New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-17-2008 05:28 PM
does this drive and case work together? slvrdrgn123 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-26-2006 05:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.