USB Issue. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2008, 09:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Smile USB Issue.

I have had this problem for a while and have got round it a few times. But now its bugging me.

I have the following:-

Microsoft Webcam
Logitech G15 Keyboard
Microsoft Habu Mouse
Plantronics Headset

These all run of USB. Sometimes if i plug in a memory stick...one of these will go off and windows will display an error (low bandwidth or something).

Also i have an mp3 mixer with uses usb, which i don't leave plugged in all the time.

I was wandering if i got a PCI USB card for example this one
Belkin Hi-Speed USB2.0 5-Port PCI Card - Ebuyer
Would this help solve my problem??
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: USB Issue.

Yes it will fix the issue - as those new USB ports will take power from the PCI bus.

What is weird though is 5 devices causing power issues. It obviously is a power consumption issue with the USB devices, i'm just suprised 5 devices caused a problem.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 12:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: USB Issue.

Are these devices connected to a separate port or do they share one port through a hub?
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default Re: USB Issue.

I have tried all of the devices in a hub....straight into the motherboard....with the hub without the hub...everything...
__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: USB Issue.

If the ports are on the Asus M2N32-SLI board. Install the USB bracket that came with the board into a spare PCI slot. That will give you a couple of extra ports on a different controller. You could also get a couple of USB to PS2 adapters and use the PS2 ports for the mouse and keyboard.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: USB Issue.

I had a issue like this once with the microsoft receiver for windows sucking the power. I had to get a usb hub that used external power to solve the issue. That card still uses the PC's power so I am not sure if that in fact will solve the issue or not.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 06:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: USB Issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
That card still uses the PC's power so I am not sure if that in fact will solve the issue or not.
With a powered hub the hubs supply will supply 50% of the power while the PC will supply the other 50% since the 5v lines are tied together.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 07:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: USB Issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KurrentEweser View Post
With a powered hub the hubs supply will supply 50% of the power while the PC will supply the other 50% since the 5v lines are tied together.
I'm confused, so this card he posted has its own power source?

If it works please let me know!
Chad711 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 07:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: USB Issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
I'm confused, so this card he posted has its own power source?

If it works please let me know!
He's not having power problems. He's having bandwidth problems. Ideally the webcam and headset should be on their own controller sharing bandwidth nothing else.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 1.2 patch dario03 PC Gaming 34 08-29-2008 02:42 AM
Seeminly Unsolveable Problem! Reply ASAP! yoshi1476 Microsoft Windows and Software 44 06-13-2008 12:48 AM
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM
Lexmark USB printer issue superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-28-2008 03:17 PM
USB 3.0 Announced kurtowns Off Topic Discussion 19 03-07-2008 07:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.