USB 1.1 or 2.0 ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2007, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

I have an older system that I believe had USB 1.1 ports on the back of the MB. I'm not for sure though....

Here's a link to to MSI KM4M-V below...

MSI Computer Corp. - Product

Anyways, I recently installed an internal USB 2.0 (4) port card in it and need to know how do I verify if the 2.0 is actually "upgraded" from the USB 1.1 ??
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 01:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

you plug in a hdd or something similar and look at the speed of transfer whether it is at 2.0 speed or 1.1.............
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 02:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
you plug in a hdd or something similar and look at the speed of transfer whether it is at 2.0 speed or 1.1.............
Where does the transfer speed show up ??
Katmandu is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 07:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

I'm not sure if you'll actually see the transfer speed. You'll just notice 2.0, transferring faster than 1.1...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 08:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

use filezilla that tells you the transfer rates or just transfer a gb file and calculate the time it takes to transfer by the windows time prediction
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 11:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

It would most likely b 2.0 because that is almost the same mobo I have and it is 2.0
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 11:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katmandu View Post
I have an older system that I believe had USB 1.1 ports on the back of the MB. I'm not for sure though....

Here's a link to to MSI KM4M-V below...

MSI Computer Corp. - Product

Anyways, I recently installed an internal USB 2.0 (4) port card in it and need to know how do I verify if the 2.0 is actually "upgraded" from the USB 1.1 ??
this is a quote from the site you posted.


• VIA® VT8237 Chipset
- Integrated Direct Sound AC'97 audio.
- Dual Channel Ultra DMA 33/66/100/133 master mode EIDE controller.
- Supports both ACPI and PC2001 compliant enhanced power management.
- 8 ports USB 2.0 controller.
- Integrated Ethernet MAC.
- SATA RAID 0 or RAID 1

so yes it does have usb 2.0 onboard

make sure that you are running windows service pack 2 and that you have up to date drivers
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 11:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by networkgeek View Post
this is a quote from the site you posted.


• VIA® VT8237 Chipset
- Integrated Direct Sound AC'97 audio.
- Dual Channel Ultra DMA 33/66/100/133 master mode EIDE controller.
- Supports both ACPI and PC2001 compliant enhanced power management.
- 8 ports USB 2.0 controller.
- Integrated Ethernet MAC.
- SATA RAID 0 or RAID 1

so yes it does have usb 2.0 onboard

make sure that you are running windows service pack 2 and that you have up to date drivers
But he wasn't asking about the onboard now he is wondering how to check the speed....
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 11:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

whoops. I did see something in the beginning of the OP that said that he wasnt sure if it was 1.1 on the back of motherboard or 2.0.



checking speeds may not be relevant though. since the mobo is usb2.0 and the card is 2.0. the only difference in the speed will be how much faster the onboard transfers to processor and to video versus the speed of transfer out to the pci bus.

that is if I read the post right and the link for the board is correct
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 06:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: USB 1.1 or 2.0 ???

if you plug a flash drive into a usb 2.0 port nothing happens but if you plug it in to a 1.1 port it will say "this device can perform faster if placed on a usb 2.0 port"
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.