Upping my PSU from proprietary.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2006, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default Upping my PSU from proprietary....

I just got a 400W generic 20+4 pin PSU..I kno for a fact taht my computer is proprietary PSU..if i put in this one what would happen? would anything fry? would everything fry?
__________________

teknikull is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

the worst would be fry all your components lol
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

yea i kno but how positive r u that it will happen? i kno the worst case scenario..
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

... You could start off by telling us what your computer is
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

My computer is a Compaq Presario 5320US..Im pretty positive its got a proprietary PSU (ive read old forums on my comp about it) and i wanna get a better GFX card (mines 16mb nvidia vanta agp4x) and i got a 400W PSU..im not gonna get enough money for my new computer by the end of the summer so..ill just get a new GFX card and play WoW to hold me off till I get more money (i need about 200 more in 2 weeks)
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

my comp only has a 250W PSU and i dont kno if it will be able to power it..(they recommend 300W wit 12+ 18A) i think my 12 rail is like 15A...i dont see why it wood fry my comp..Y DO PREBUILT COMPANIES DO THIS S**T!
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

whats a proprietary PSU??? Because ive got a friend with a compaq whos upgrading his PSU, hasnt ordered it but hes upgrading to a Ultra X-Finity 500-watt and id rather not be the one to fry his computer.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well my friends old gateway, really really old, 1.4 ghz celeron 128 mb ram....

anyway, i replaced his psu cuz his friend and it worked just find.. i used a POS coolmax 450 watt 19 amp.. nothing bad happened, in fact, he even sold the computer for 100 bucks to his friend
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 07:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

so someone reccomend me a cheap GFX card thatll run WOW..under 60$
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 05:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

yea i put in the 400W PSU and it woodnt turn on...so im stuck with my POS 250W (thats wut is says on the sticker) but it says 235W in my comp
__________________

teknikull is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.