uploading video footage onto my computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 07:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to rockout
Default uploading video footage onto my computer?

Okay I have this E-Machines T1801 computer with Windows ME running on it. I really want to use this computer for editing digital video footage. The problem is that you have to use a firewire cable to connect your video camera to your computer. My computer doesn't have a firewire port, only a USB port. I don't know what to do about this! If anybody has tips please let me know. I'd seriously apreciate it. thanks
-Drew
__________________

rockout is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...+cards&Ntk=all

Make sure that the card you selected works with ME; it may not be a bad idea to upgrade to XP, too.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to bozzobrain Send a message via Yahoo to bozzobrain
Default

well if you go online you can purchase a firewire pci card you just put it in install the software and ready to go
bozzobrain is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to rockout
Default

Awesome, thanks a lot! My second question is a little harder... Is it a smart idea to put a firewire port into an E-Machines T1801 computer running on Windows ME?
rockout is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 156
Default

What are the specifications of your PC, CPU RAM HDD SPACE?

It is a good idea to upgrade to XP, just like Macdude said.... I know ME has got some driver issues with Firewire especially.

The fire wire ports are easy enough to install, video editing does take it out of your computer though.
__________________
There are only Two things in life i regret doing... 1. Selling my Soul for Cash.... 2. Buying a Compaq.... I should have kept the Cash, huh.
wedge_00 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to rockout
Default

I don't know a lot of the specifics about the computer... If you tell me how to find out then I could do that, but I'm pretty computer-illiterate. Thanks again
__________________

rockout is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.