UPgrading to windows 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2010, 11:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 24
Post UPgrading to windows 7

How do I get the most updated version of all of my drivers.I am getting ready for seven and I need to get all of my drivers on a disk just in case when I load the operating system in and I don't have no drivers.Everything for the motherboard and all of the rest?????????????????????????????The disk i am getting is a locked copy of windows 7 and not sure if it has any of the drivers which I don't think it will.Curious as to the steps I should take to get it done right and not have to deal to many issues.
__________________

Dan Capps is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: UPgrading to windows 7

Windows 7 automatically detects out of date drivers and updates them as needed. If there are any that don't update, just go to the manufacturers website.
__________________

GoEmerica is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: UPgrading to windows 7

What is a "locked copy"?
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 24
Default Re: UPgrading to windows 7

Locked copy is like a corporate copy but you have to have a separate disk to unlock it the cd it is unlimited amount of loads to it. I will have the other cd to unlock the version of windows.That is why I am wondering if the locked version has the drivers to it.I am sure there is going to be a lot of troublshooting but once I figured out
Dan Capps is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 07:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Torrance ,California
Posts: 130
Default Re: UPgrading to windows 7

just get the ethernet driver to make sure you can get online. windows7 will do the rest.
baih777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detect If A PC Can Run Windows XP Mode In Windows 7 Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-26-2009 04:10 PM
prep for HijackThis Log posting paulmars HijackThis Logs (finished) 38 02-03-2009 06:51 PM
xp sp3 beta not in add remove office politics Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-10-2009 04:28 AM
BSOD problems yet again. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 36 08-25-2008 07:54 PM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.