upgrading videon on Lenovo K220 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2009, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default upgrading videon on Lenovo K220

Will the GeForce 9600 GT be a good replacement for the nvidia GeForce9300 that comes with the k220? (I got a deal through my wife's work on the k220, like under $500). So, will the new video card help run 3d gaming software?
__________________

squat123 is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 11:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 7
Default Re: upgrading videon on Lenovo K220

I would say you wouldn't be able to tell the difference in my opinion. If you are going to upgrade you have to get 9800. with some decent memory configurations. 700MB and above. Save yourself some dollar bills and work toward 9800 or my personal favorite GeForce GTX 295! What kinds of games do you play? Do they not run very smoothly with what you have?
__________________

Batman_tech is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 11:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrading videon on Lenovo K220

Quote:
Originally Posted by squat123 View Post
Will the GeForce 9600 GT be a good replacement for the nvidia GeForce9300 that comes with the k220? (I got a deal through my wife's work on the k220, like under $500). So, will the new video card help run 3d gaming software?
For gaming, a 9600GT is a HUGE step up from a Geforce 9300 which really to put it mildly, sucks.

I'd get it if you like to game..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: upgrading videon on Lenovo K220

what psu does the computer have.

That will be a determining factor as to which vid card you can run without a psu upgrade.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: upgrading videon on Lenovo K220

only 280W, which really sucks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
what psu does the computer have.

That will be a determining factor as to which vid card you can run without a psu upgrade.
squat123 is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 04:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrading videon on Lenovo K220

Oh dang.. no way you could ever run a 9600GT on there..

You could run an HD 4670 on there which is almost as fast as a 9600GT, but requires no power connector, overclocks better and runs cooler
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 07:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: upgrading videon on Lenovo K220

Get a new PSU in there first.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 08:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Gilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 196
Default Re: upgrading videon on Lenovo K220

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxon View Post
Get a new PSU in there first.
That's what I was gonna say as I was scrolling through the posts. :P
__________________

Gilles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 03:41 PM
Overclock Lenovo 3000 N100 0768-36U ChadNeu Overclocking and Modding 0 07-01-2007 02:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.