Upgrading Video Card Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2006, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default Upgrading Video Card Help

I posted here a few days ago and got recommended to buy this video card for my pci only mother board

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ductCode=322736

said it was the best out there for pci only video cards... but I was wondering would any of these 2 be better and if so which one?

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/P...=us&l=en&cs=19

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...CMP=EMC-NEXTAG


Thanks for your help... and do you know if any one those cards could handle cs:s bf2 or cod2?
__________________

theprofessor17 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

you first link is dead i would go for a 6600Gt at least if you plan on playing bf2
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default

6600gts dont come in pci do they?
theprofessor17 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

no, ive never seen one anyway
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

PCI video cards are way too old school. Is your computer a pre-built or did you buy it? If so, what company?

The reason I ask is you really need to upgrade your motherboard. Motherboards are fairly cheap and would allow you to get a much better video card. However, if you have a computer from a company like Dell, HP, Gateway, etc., you might not even be able to remove the motherboard.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default

so would one of those 2 links be better than the first one which is the best video card for me out of all three of those since I only have a pci compatible mother board
theprofessor17 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by theprofessor17
so would one of those 2 links be better than the first one which is the best video card for me out of all three of those since I only have a pci compatible mother board
The first link is broken, so you'll need to fix that or give us some details before we can tell you.
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default

i bought mine off of hp a few months ago when i didnt know anything about computers... and it came with a real piece of crap video card.. something like a realtek intel family chipset... at least i have a 3.06 ghz processor and 1.5 gigs of ram... any advice for the best pci video card i can get out of those 3 links?
theprofessor17 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

the second link seemed pretty good (cheaper)
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default

the link works fine on my computer but here it is again and if doesnt work then i dont know what...

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/P...=us&l=en&cs=19
__________________

theprofessor17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.