Upgrading Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2009, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Upgrading Video Card

ok, So i currently have an Nvidia GForce EVGA GTS 250 video card...

I'm not getting the framerate I want when playing games so I am going to probably SLI another one
Can I SLI a 1 gigabyte version of the card with a 512megabyte version of the card? or will that not work?

also I'd like everything to be in HD, but my card doesn't support 1080p...what do i need to do to get HD?

EDIT:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...625&CatId=3670
It says it doesn't support 1080p at the bottom

im on a 32"1080ptv with 1920x1080 resolution
__________________

kirota is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 03:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Upgrading Video Card

What do you mean it does not support 1080p? What resolution is your monitor. My old 7800gtx is serving as a media center running 1920x1080 on my 40" 1080p tv.

You can sli the 1gb with a 512mb gts250 but you will loose 512 or vram on the 1gb card. If you already have a 512 then get another. If you have a 1gb then get a second 1gb card.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 03:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Upgrading Video Card

Ok here's what i'm looking at
EVGA GeForce GTS 250 Video Card - 512MB DDR3, PCI Express 2.0, (2) Dual Link DVI, SLI Ready at TigerDirect.com
at the bottom is says 1080p support: no

im on a 32" 1920x1080 monitor
kirota is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Upgrading Video Card

Max resolution that card will run is 2560 x 1600 so no problems running 1920 x 1080.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 04:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Upgrading Video Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Max resolution that card will run is 2560 x 1600 so no problems running 1920 x 1080.
ya but will it be in 1080p HD?
kirota is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 04:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Upgrading Video Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirota View Post
ya but will it be in 1080p HD?
1080p and 1920x1080 are the same thing. That's what 1080p means, a resolution of 1920x1080.

As hefe says, you will have no trouble displaying 1080p.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 08:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Upgrading Video Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirota View Post
Ok here's what i'm looking at
EVGA GeForce GTS 250 Video Card - 512MB DDR3, PCI Express 2.0, (2) Dual Link DVI, SLI Ready at TigerDirect.com
at the bottom is says 1080p support: no

im on a 32" 1920x1080 monitor
straight from the TD page,

Quote:
Integrated SD and HD TV Output
World-class TV-out functionality via Composite, S-Video, Component or
DVI connections. Supports resolutions up to 1080i/1080p, depending on connection type and TV capability.
that card will have absolutely no problem pushing 1080p. my old 8500GT could do it.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card shuts down unexpectedly multi86 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-03-2009 09:33 PM
Upgrading Video Card Question spooky9917 New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-08-2008 06:26 PM
Upgrading video card help elreece New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-01-2008 10:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.