Upgrading SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2007, 08:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default Upgrading SATA

I've maxed out my hard drive so I've purchased another

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB

Is it just a matter of plugging it into a spare sata port on my mobo and switching on my pc, will it recognise it and set it up as a seperate drive in windows or do i need to do anything.

Cheers
__________________

Ninja4621 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 08:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

you nee to plug it in and then format it and then you can use it
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 08:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

cheers, do i format it in windows?
Ninja4621 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

no.... it will recognize it automatically, only way u need to format it is to RAID it but i doubt ur doing that....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 03:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

i believe you have to format the drive inorder to use it. windows will recognize it but you won't be able to use the drive.

i read somewhere that some hidden windows file has to be written on the drive to be to able to use it..
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 05:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

cheers for the feedback, im not putting it in raid so was hoping to just plug and play, so to speak. Im not putting it in till tomorrow so I'll get back to you all. Does anyone else know whether I have to put a file in there in order for it to work?
Ninja4621 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 06:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

you can format it in windows by right clicking on the drive, and selecting format.

i would suggest the NTFS filesystem.
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 07:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

Whats the NTFS System?
Ninja4621 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 12:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja4621 View Post
cheers for the feedback, im not putting it in raid so was hoping to just plug and play, so to speak. Im not putting it in till tomorrow so I'll get back to you all. Does anyone else know whether I have to put a file in there in order for it to work?
if you format the drive in the OS the files are written on the HD automatically. like what fastrandstrongr said
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: Upgrading SATA

NTFS is just a way of formatting the Hard Drive. wikipedia it if you're really interested. Other filesystems are Fat32 and Fat16. All you really need to know is that when you format, choose NTFS.
__________________

fastrandstrongr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA HDD Freezing computer PersianMafia Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-27-2007 04:19 PM
how to know if SATA is @ full speed plz Hamuth Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-21-2007 03:52 PM
SATA disk problem uNN4m3d Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-07-2007 07:19 AM
SATA boot disk freezing system and not being recognised harrytewkesbury Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-07-2007 05:24 AM
SATA hard drive not recognized in Windows XP setup bcase21 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-31-2007 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.