Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2008, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 83
Default Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

My girl frind has a dell desktop I think it's like a pentium 4 inspiron.

My question is this. How do I find out how much RAM the mother board will accept?? She has 512MB right now and I wanted to up grade to 2gb. (How can I find out the chips in there ie. two 256MBs or one 512MB)

I want to also install an internal Wifi card so we can move it somewhere else in the house, I noticed on E-bay they are fairly inexpensive (25$ or so). How can I find out if it's compatible with her computer?

Last. I want to give her Video/Graphics a little bit more of a boost, another one how can i find out if they are compatible??

I guess in general, where can I go on the computer and find out stuff like that. Like how many available slots are on the mother board stuff like that??

Not only am I just trying to upgrade her system, but also expand my knowledge a little bit....

any help is appreciated..

Thanks
Jeff
__________________

hesson81 is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

First thing we need if the model number.

From that, we can give you the links to get more ram, a wireless adapter, and a newer graphics card.

You come here to expand your knowledge and to find computer stuff. It is the best place to do so, and we do our best to help you.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

Try CPU-z For some info on the computer.

Download CPU-Z 1.45 - FileHippo.com
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 10:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 83
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

Thanks for that download. I havn'e used it yet mean while here's the model number...

76477-OEM-0011903-00102

Thanks for your help

Jeff
hesson81 is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

That's not the model number. The model number is listed on the front of the case.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 02:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

Such as Optiplex 740 or Inspiron ### or Dimension ###
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 02:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 83
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

Holy cr--, I feel like I'm...........my girl friend.

Yea pretty simple, right in from of me. Demension 3000
hesson81 is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

You can use up to 2GB of DDR 333 PC2700 memory or 2GB of DDR 400 PC3200 memory.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
You can use up to 2GB of DDR 333 PC2700 memory or 2GB of DDR 400 PC3200 memory.
Both of which are about the same price.

The WiFi card is the same deal, it will just fit into one of the PCI slots.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR ValueSelect 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I have this RAM, and it hasn't let me down.

As for the video card I really don't know PCI that well, but I found this one newegg...

Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR 24PRO256M PCI Radeon HD 2400PRO 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Thoughts anyone?
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 05:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 83
Default Re: Upgrading RAM/Video/installing internal wifi

Wow thanks so much, now I know what I need to get and how much the mother board will support.

Question: How do you know that. See I have two PC's and I would like to know how you gathered that info. I'm not to Comp illiterate, I just don't know where to find that stuff..

THanks so much
__________________

hesson81 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible Corrupted/Infected Files. xXxexpertxXx Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-12-2008 01:18 AM
set up wifi via batch file / command prompt servo.tsc Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-09-2008 02:30 PM
What Can WiFi Technology Do For You? stvalentine Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 18 11-29-2007 03:43 PM
Internal power error mike4realz Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-18-2007 08:11 AM
My Hotel Wifi Speed Varies mfaerber Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 04-23-2007 01:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.