Upgrading RAM, please give some inputs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default Upgrading RAM, please give some inputs

I currently using 2x526MB Dual Channels RAM and now wanna upgrade to 1GB and my mobo is asus p4c800-e deluxe which has 4 slots So i just buy 2another sticks and put it in or just use 2x512MB sticks? which way's better?

Thanks
__________________

Vista is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

If you have 2x512 then you already have 1gb. Are you looking to upgrade to 2gb? If so, then your answer is yes.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

oppsy it was a typo :-) i mean 2x256MB my question is if there's a big different bwt 2x512MB and 4x256MB?
Vista is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

You will get better timings and speed if you go with 2x 512.
24/7 Gamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.