upgrading ram, hoping for some advice... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2010, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Claremont, California
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to Yrteop
Default upgrading ram, hoping for some advice...

So I have 4 slots, and i want to add at least 2 more gigs of ram.
I dont know anything about ram timing, so I'm left wondering should I just 2 more of the same, which is the newegg link below. Or can i buy 2 chips that are something less expensive without seeing to much of a decrease versus the performance of having 4 of the same....
Basically what would a techie doo in my shoes, thats on a budget. if its best to stay with the gskill then I'll get them.

thanks in advanced for any help. the second link is something cheaper with decent ratings that I was thinking of getting instead...


Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ
^identical gskill ram

Newegg.com - A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model AD2U800B1G5-DRH
^cheaper but compatible i think.


My computer:

PROCESSOR : AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.0GHz
Socket AM2 Processor 2MB L2 Cache
MOTHERBOARD : nVidia nForce 570 SLI Socket AM2 Motherboard
OPERATING SYSTEM : Windows 7
MEMORY : G.SKILL 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
GRAPHICS CARD : Nvidia GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit
HARD DRIVE : 500GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA
POWER SUPPLY : 630 Watt Energy Star Compliant Power Supply
__________________

Yrteop is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: upgrading ram, hoping for some advice...

getting the same set of ram will minimize the chances of issues with differing sets not playing nice with each other.

you can use a different set though, but try to find a set that's similarly spec'd as the set you already have (speed, latency, voltage), maybe like this set.
Newegg.com - WINTEC AMPX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model 3AXT6400C5-2048K
rated at 800mhz, cl5 with 1.9-2.0 V.

similar to your g.skill set, where it's listed as operating with 1.8-2.0 V.
__________________

__________________
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 10:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: upgrading ram, hoping for some advice...

Never used Wintec, but I do like G-Skill.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading, need some advice! malphos101 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-04-2010 12:55 PM
Upgrading, could use some advice. Sqwaggy New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-24-2009 05:03 AM
Upgrading advice Yami New Systems | Building and Buying 10 01-10-2009 11:29 AM
Need Advice On Upgrading getemboi System Upgrades 22 08-30-2008 07:02 PM
Need advice for upgrading PC! Eugi System Upgrades 3 10-09-2005 12:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.