Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2007, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

Alright guys, i'm relying on you guys for some advice.

I have an AMD Athlon 64 3000+, 1.99 GHz, 384mb of RAM

My computer model is: Emachines W3400

Running XP Home with SP2

--

Alright, when i start my comp it's already using 399mb of memory which i'm guessing is cutting into "virtual memory". I really need to get more memory but i also need to get a better graphics card.

My question is. If i get a graphics card with 512-1g memory help in everyday stuff like surfing the net, photoshop, ect. or only help with video and gaming?

If i can get a graphics card and memory in one that would be preferred, if i must get only get a RAM upgrade what kind does my machine need and how much should i get?

Please respond
__________________

holyrhapsody is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,306
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

The RAM on a GFX card won't add to the RAM in your computer, and it only helps with graphics.

That said, RAM is pretty cheap and the easiest upgrade known to computers. Your computer uses DDR (PC3200, or 400, same thing), and can handle up to 2 gigs.

Luckily your computer has a PCI-E slot for graphics. Your power supply is only 300 watts, though, so the power needs of the card must be considered unless you upgrade the PSU as well. Since you are using the onboard graphics, almost anything would be a boost.

So, what is your budget?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

New video will only help in gaming.

The W3400 supports a maximum of 2GB (2 x 1GB) of DDR400 PC3200 memory.

For that old rig, I'd recommend just getting 1GB and saving your money for a better computer later on.

I recommend this ram: Newegg.com - CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 02:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

Peter, will that RAM Work with my computer?

--

My budget is $200 for a graphics card. I forgot to mention that i do have a nvidia installed with 128mb on it, that's about all i know about it. My main priority is getting my comp running smoother. Some things that i do is: Photoshop, edit video(vegas), game(mostly RTS), run a gaming forum).

I'm looking for a card that can run Command & Conquer 3 pretty easily, even if it isn't on high quality.

I also heard that some RAM needs to be installed in sets on certain comps. I'm assuming i have 256 in one slot. Is it safe to install 2 more RAM chips even though it won't be 2 sets?
holyrhapsody is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

LOL, why would I recommend something that wouldn't work?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

Well, If i were to buy it and it didn't work i would feel pretty dumb. Then someone would ask " I thought you knew which type to get?". I would respond, "Some guy recommended it on a forum..". Then i would get slapped in the back of the head lol.

Hope you can understand that.

About the RAM sticks being in pairs, do they have to be for my system? Buying what you linked me too would mean that i would have an odd about of RAM sticks. But, it only has one to begin with so it was laready not in a set of 2.. Just not sure about it.
holyrhapsody is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 04:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

You would replace the old set of ram, whatever it is with what I linked.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 04:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

Gotcha, thanks for the advice.
holyrhapsody is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 12:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

I'm thinking about getting this card along with the memory upgrade.:

BFG - GeForce 8600 GT OC Graphics Card - BFGR86512GTOCFE

the requirements say:
Quote:
Windows XP or Vista; 512MB RAM; 50MB available hard drive space; 325W PCI Express-compliant system power supply; PCI Express-compliant motherboard; available PCI Express x16 slot; CD-ROM drive
I'm assuming i will need a PSU upgrade, that's fine but i need to be pointed in some sort of direction. Is there anything i need to know when selecting a new power supply unit? Can anyone recommend one that will give me enough juice to run this card?

Thanks in advance!
holyrhapsody is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Upgrading RAM and/or graphics card :: Need Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by holyrhapsody View Post
I'm thinking about getting this card along with the memory upgrade.:

BFG - GeForce 8600 GT OC Graphics Card - BFGR86512GTOCFE

the requirements say:

I'm assuming i will need a PSU upgrade, that's fine but i need to be pointed in some sort of direction. Is there anything i need to know when selecting a new power supply unit? Can anyone recommend one that will give me enough juice to run this card?

Thanks in advance!
Wow that a major ripoff, the 8800gt 256mb murders that card and can be found online for $200. You can get a stronger card for less money, like a 7900gs. That card (8600gt) doesn't use a lot of power, basically if it doesn't have a pci-e connector then its a low power consumption card. 8600gts and higher would need a psu upgrade, and for less you could get an 8600gts online which is comparable to a 7900gs but with added dx10 support.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading ram krap928 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 12-04-2007 12:07 PM
Upgrading RAM in laptop, NEED ADVICE. c_los Laptops and Notebooks 13 11-20-2007 02:22 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
WTB/WTT for a good graphics card jordo_99 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 10-02-2007 10:49 AM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.