Upgrading ram amount graphic driver. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2011, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Exclamation Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

Im very bad at this kind of stuff. I basically want to be able to play games like bf3... skyrim things like that in at least high detail with no lag. I also want more ram but i have no idea how i upgrade the amount of ram my computer has. I just don't know what i need. I upgraded my graphic card a very long time ago but i didn't see in major improvements. It was aNVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS. My computer has crashed many times before because i used up all the memory in it so yah...
I have a windows vista home premium. Service pack 2. Dell, Inspiron 530S. Intel(R) Pentium (R) Dual CPU E2160 @ 1.80GHz 1.80 GHz, 3.00GB,32 bit. I do not want to go over 200$ with all this but it depends on what you guys say i need. Please i need help i want to get this before xmas!!
__________________

pwnagebeef is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

more ram really wont help you too much with a 32 bit system. the 8400 gs really isnt even close to what you need for gaming.

you would really be better off saving your money and starting with a new system. $6-700 will get you very far.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonalwaysready View Post
you would really be better off saving your money and starting with a new system.
^
Sadly there really isn't a whole lot you can do with that Dell upgrade wise that will make a noticeable difference.

BF3 and Skyrim can run on a dual-core CPU, but recommend a quad-core.
Also both recommend 4GB of RAM, and a better video card than your power supply can handle.

You can reuse your hard drive and optical drive, but would need a new CPU, motherboard, RAM, Windows license, power supply, and video card.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 12-05-2011, 03:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

hmm well is there anything i culd get that could atleast improve my graphics to the best i can do with the pc i got by any chance?
pwnagebeef is offline  
Old 12-05-2011, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roark View Post
^
Sadly there really isn't a whole lot you can do with that Dell upgrade wise that will make a noticeable difference.
As Roark said, it's not practical nor worth upgrading. Save your money and get a brand new system.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-06-2011, 03:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

ok so could you find a computer for me that would be paticuarly well rounded for gaming in general.. not just one that runs like all ultra graphics for like bf or skyrim.. but that is well around good for gaming in general. with a price range of around 700 or less
pwnagebeef is offline  
Old 12-06-2011, 03:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

Can you re-use any parts from your other system? Plus you will need a new license for Windows.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-06-2011, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

i have no idea, most likely not.. i wouldn't know anyways, what i do know is that i have a very slim shaped desktop so most of the parts in it aren't what you would normally have i don't think in a larger computer that's why i just want to buy a knew desktop all together, because it would be way easier.. I know i just thought about a new license for Windows, how much do those cost?
pwnagebeef is offline  
Old 12-06-2011, 04:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgrading ram amount graphic driver.

I meant like hard drives. As they are **** expensive.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-06-2011, 04:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default

i don't know if its reusable or not but my C: has 288gb it says?

my C: says i have 288gb in total.. i have no idea if it's reusable or not
__________________

pwnagebeef is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus graphic driver gavanover Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-03-2010 11:40 PM
Graphic Driver Issue AnimusManifesto Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-14-2008 09:55 PM
How do i uninstall a Graphic Driver? Benjef Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 01-20-2008 05:28 PM
Graphic card driver in reinstallation of OS Sevenor Web Graphics and Design 1 01-15-2006 03:33 PM
CS1.6 & graphic card driver setting amdrocks Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-11-2005 11:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.