Upgrading RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2011, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Question Upgrading RAM

I currently have 1gb of memory installed in one ram slot. If i were to purchase a 2gb memory stick and put it in the slot beside it would it work, or does each slot only support up to a max of 1gb?
Additionally, I noticed that on my motherboard there are two extra spots to add a memory slot. The D1MM1 and D1MM2 have slots and the D1MM1 has 1gb of ram in it. The D1MM2 slot has no memory, and the D1MM3 ad D1MM4 don't even have slots to add the memory. Is it possible to add slots onto the mother board in these parts?
Thanks
__________________

zero_impossible is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

You can only put 2 memory sticks if you only have 2 slots. There is no way to add more memory slots (DIMM3 and DIMM4)...The labels here are probably for a different version of the same board that will have 4 memory slots.

Without knowing exactly what motherboard your have I can't say for certain on the max size support per memory slot.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

My motherboard model is mcp61sm2ma-rs2h. I looked at the manual, and oddly it says that the motherboard should have four built it slots--but that probably is so, as the manual is written for two other similar versions. Anyways, though I was still not able to find the maximum capacity of each slot, so i still don't know if a 2gb ram stick would work.
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
zero_impossible is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

From searching around, it looks like it can only support 1GB ram per slot.
brinks is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Is the highest that a pc2 3200 type of memory supports 1gb of ram?
zero_impossible is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Your motherboard can support PC2-6400, PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM 1GB ram.

Quote:
Is the highest that a pc2 3200 type of memory supports 1gb of ram?
I think there is ram that is 4GB at the pc2 3200 speeds.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading MY PC CoZTraDaMuS System Upgrades 1 11-28-2008 12:19 PM
Upgrading pc need some help zeppelinfan2009 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-01-2006 07:51 PM
upgrading to XP Pro Xion10 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-13-2006 06:07 PM
Upgrading PC Kazo0 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-26-2005 09:42 PM
Upgrading CPU tommy8748 System Upgrades 11 10-17-2005 01:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.