Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2016, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

So I am looking to upgrade my computer to have 8GB of ram from 4. As I understand it 2x4GB is better than 1x8GB, but I am looking to get the cheapest ram possible and getting 1x8 is about $20 cheaper.
Is this stupid, how much of an effect on performance would it have? I will be playing games, using photoshop and maybe some video editing (unsure).
I am also looking to replace this computer next year.
Lastly if I go with 1x8 can I use one of the leftover ram in the other slot? I would assume not but just to be sure.
Thanks
__________________

Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

Need to know the RAM you're looking at purchasing and what motherboard you have.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Need to know the RAM you're looking at purchasing and what motherboard you have.
Asrock H71M-DGS Motherboard
Crucial DDR3 PC12800/1600MHz CL11 8GB (CT102464BD160B) - DDR3 memory module - Lowest price, test and reviews
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 07:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

Yes it'll support the 8GB stick and you can add another stick you currently have to it. 8GB IMO these days should be minimum but I did run my old AMD rig for a while waiting for water with 6GB of DDR2 with no issues.

What CPU do you have now?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

Intel i3-2120 3.30GHz
And yeah I have 4GB now and am constantly running on like 75% so I really need an upgrade. Can I really use one of the 2GB sticks I have now with it, for 10GB total? The ram I have now I believe is slower.
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

Yes, it'll just run at the slower speed. If it doesn't boot up immediately after you put the stick in make sure to manually set the speed to 1333 (or whatever the slower stick is) so it'll boot.

Also the i3 is pretty fine for gaming when paired with a good video card. Not really necessary to buy a whole new machine anytime soon.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yes, it'll just run at the slower speed. If it doesn't boot up immediately after you put the stick in make sure to manually set the speed to 1333 (or whatever the slower stick is) so it'll boot.

Also the i3 is pretty fine for gaming when paired with a good video card. Not really necessary to buy a whole new machine anytime soon.
Does that mean that I would be limiting the 8GB stick to 1333?
And the i3 is still ok you say? That actually changes my thoughts on building a new pc, yeah. I really though that my i3 was slow and holding back my pc, but if not then I can deffinitely just upgrade. Im thinking an SSD and this new ram would probably solve a lot of the slowdown problems I have, which are mostly when booting and when I have a lot of programs open.
I have a 660 OC atm, which is holding up decently for now.
Thanks for the help and advice!
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

Well whatever the old stick's rated speed is. 1333 or even 1066 is fine honestly.

Yes, I actually made a video recently showing an i3 paired with a 970 playing all the top games of today. It faired decently even on the games demanding a quad core. The only thing the i3 will be slow at is rendering videos if you ever want to seriously video edit long videos.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 06:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Reckless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Default Re: Upgrading ram - 1x8 GB

I would certainly get the 1 stick of 8GB, that way it allows you to upgrade to 16GB in the future.
A SSD card will certainly be a good upgrade for you.
__________________

Reckless is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram Ram Ram! wisey12 System Upgrades 4 06-30-2007 12:40 PM
Ram Ram Ram ???? the milkman New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-16-2006 10:50 PM
Upgrading My RAM + Increasing amouunt of RAM available to the graphics thundertiger Microsoft Windows and Software 13 01-23-2006 02:01 PM
RAM is RAM is RAM? star_topology Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 04-29-2005 04:04 PM
Ram and ram and ram supbro Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-19-2004 05:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.