Upgrading Questions! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 02:58 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 53
Default Re: Upgrading Questions!

Ok so if i have an AMD Athlon 64 processor would i right to be assume i have a AM\AM2 socket which would make the AMD AM2 Athlon 64 X2 6000+ compatible with my pc?

this might help:

HP dx5150 Business PC - Worldwide QuickSpecs
__________________

yoshi1476 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 03:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 53
Default Re: Upgrading Questions!

Disregard the last post. I found out that out of a AM2 socket or a 939 socket my pc has the 939 socket so whats the best cpu i can get for it without upgrading the mobo. I am currently looking at the X2s or the FXs.??






hmmmmmmmm. a AMD Athlon FX-60 costs $1,500 a bit out of my price range.
__________________

yoshi1476 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 07:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 53
Default Re: Upgrading Questions!

Should i buy a Amd Athlon 64 3800+ Processor or save up buy a new mobo and cpu if possible or buy a new computer or buy my little bro an average card and buy something like a sound card or more ram?
yoshi1476 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 08:49 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Upgrading Questions!

Save up, buy a new PC, then buy your little bro a video card. They are cheap these days....
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 09:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 53
Default Re: Upgrading Questions!

Hmmm........ i'm not gonna buy a new pc i think i will custom build one. All i need is a mobo with am2 cpu sockets, an am2 processor, i already have the graphics card and hard drive, i might need to buy new ram since mine is the old ddr......... I reckon i can get the mobo for $100-, Processor for $100 -$150, and some 2gb ddr2 ram for <$100 and and a psu for $50 and $100 for a case which brings it to a total of $500 (exc. postage) and Dell wants me to pay AUD $1,499 for a computer which is worse than that!


Well since I can't be bothered working that long I will just buy the graphics card for my little bro and a psu for me which i will put into my custom pc when i can afford the other parts!
__________________

yoshi1476 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my Gaming Rig - Few questions blayez New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-30-2008 09:44 AM
Questions About Upgrading (Let Me Guess this is the 1,000 time right?) Gunraidan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-25-2008 09:14 PM
Upgrading my system..a few questions yamahammer342 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-13-2007 11:04 PM
Upgrading to Vista Questions PaulG5372 System Upgrades 7 11-13-2007 11:00 AM
upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions lazer_viking New Systems | Building and Buying 23 05-05-2007 07:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.