Upgrading Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2007, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Upgrading Questions

I want to upgrade my computer and I had some questions. And yes I know that even after the upgrade my computer will still be out of date, but I don't plan on using it for any 3D games or video editing or anything like that.

Does image editing software or simple 3D modeling software perform any better with a video card? If so what's a reccomended PCI card, because I currently have integrated.

My Socket Type is 478. I currently have a Celeron 2.6GHZ, and I want to upgrade to this: Newegg.com - Intel Pentium 4 3.0E Prescott 3.0GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket 478 RoHS Version Processor - OEM a 3GHZ P4. Can I be assured that it will work?

I currently have 1 stick of 512MB RAM running at 133MHZ. Is there really a point getting another stick, or is it just too slow? If so does it have to be the same brand, because I have Infineon and I can't find that.
__________________

ScaryManInThePark is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

i would consider a whole new system... cuz the x2 brisbane is 56$ dual-core, 64 bit and owns that p4..
__________________

veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to bleeckkk
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

Getting a video card would greatly free up cpu resources and as for upgrading the cpu I wouldn't bother, the 2.6ghz celeron sounds fine, with the p4 you'll be getting 400 more mhz and some more cache but you probably wouldn't notice it too much. I would get a video card and see if that helps speed things up a bit by not having your onboard gfx chip hogging cpu resources.

EDIT: As for the ram - and this is just me - but yeah it's too slow for me to dish out money for more of it, I would consider it a 512mb comp. No point really spending the money on a old 133mhz - ... what is that, PC2100? - stick. That's just me though.
bleeckkk is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

i agree with verong. I'd seriously consider a new computer. If you know how to assemble your own rig, id can be seriously cheap. if youre not a gamer, youll just need the bare essentials and put together a computer thats far superior to your current one. there are several tutorials on putting together your own rig on these forums, and you can do so for relatively cheap, (<$500). in the long run, it'd probably be a quite wise investment to just get a new PC. anyways, good luck, hope this helped.
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

I can only spend a couple hundred, so what can I reuse? The case has pretty much fallen apart so I'd need a new one. And I really just need a new hard drive (I currently have a 40Gig), and then I would possibly need a video card, and a mobo, CPU, and RAM. My PSU is 250Watt so I don't know if that could be reused.
ScaryManInThePark is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel, SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE 550 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 550 MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) System Memory - Retail
Newegg.com - Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply 115/230 V - Retail
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Comes to about $350....I wasn't sure of which cheap video card to pick. You can reuse the optical drive, along with your 40gig hard drive.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

I only have about $270 to spend including shipping and video card right now, and I'm a kid who doesn't have a job so more money isn't going to come very fast. What can I really do without? I don't really need a case it can just be open right? I can do with a cheaper mobo and processor (I can get socket 939 right, only disadvantage is worse RAM and no upgradability). I don't need an OS because I can use Linux. So would Socket 939 work, and can I do it without a case?

If I'm not using games how does Septron do? Because I could go even cheaper (I would perfer if possible not to spend the entire $270) and get socket 754?
ScaryManInThePark is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 12:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

You can do without a case, but you have to be careful.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 01:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

I'm looking around, and I notice that it's cheaper to get DDR2 RAM for whatever reason. So I have a question about which RAM I can use. On this mobo: Newegg.com - PC CHIPS A11G V1.0 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail it says Memory Standard is DDR2 800, can I use DDR2 533 or 667 or something like that on it?
ScaryManInThePark is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 01:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading Questions

Yes...
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions lazer_viking New Systems | Building and Buying 23 05-05-2007 07:39 AM
Upgrading parts Silverlord New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-02-2007 08:45 PM
Could someone answer these questions... tech_to_be Technology Careers and Education 2 04-24-2007 04:00 PM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM
Upgrading Computer. alex12345 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.