Upgrading PSU...need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2010, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default Upgrading PSU...need help

Hi my PSU is broken, keeps crashing my PC, switches monitor off (no signal) and gives me looping audio.

My PC : Information and Instructions - IMEDIA MC 2569 - PB34330401 - iMedia - platform_honeymoon_imedia - Desktop

I'm pretty much useless with computers, and im struggling to find info on which PSU's I can buy.. i'm wanting to buy a new PSU from Play.com (UK): DVDs, Music CDs, MP3s, Video Games, Books, Electronics & Gadgets - Free Delivery - Search Results: power supply unit

I have looked on the packard bell website for my PC and they don't seem to offer any advice for PSU's

I have a Nvidia GeForce 9600 GT gfx card.

Can anyone point me in the right direction as to which PSU's I should be looking at? I have a price range of around 25

Thanks in advance
__________________

ministrike is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 01:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

What you need to do is open up the side panel, and read the sticker on the psu that tells the power out put.

It'll say how many Watts, like 400W, AND how many Amps on the 12V rail. This is important too.

Also, I assume from the pictures it's a normal sizxe case/psu.

And welcome to the forum.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
What you need to do is open up the side panel, and read the sticker on the psu that tells the power out put.

It'll say how many Watts, like 400W, AND how many Amps on the 12V rail. This is important too.

Also, I assume from the pictures it's a normal sizxe case/psu.

And welcome to the forum.
Hi, thanks for the reply... I opened up the side panel and this is what it says on the side of the PSU

AC INPUT: 220-230V
DC OUTPUT: +3.3V & +5V = 115W Max (Total output continuous shall not exceed 250watts).
ministrike is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

Missing the 12V amp number... theres a little chart that usually says it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Missing the 12V amp number... theres a little chart that usually says it.
Oops, It's a normal size one too, forgot to say that..

Errm theres this kinda chart that you might be talking about:

+3.3V --- 17.0A (ORG), +5V --- 18.0A (RED), +12V1 --- 8.0A (YEL)
+5Vab --- 2.0A (PURP), -12V --- 0.3A (BLUE), +12v2 --- 14.0A (YEL/BLK)
P.G. SIGNAL (GRAY), GROUND (BLACK)
ministrike is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

Perfect..... 18Amps

Does it have to be that site? The psus on there are not to reputable... that I know of..
I found an Antec over at overclockers.co.uk for 24.99.

Its a known brand, and not to bad psu.
Antec Basiq 430W Power Supply [] Power Supplies

Maybe more ukers can chime in soon on it for you, so I'd wait till they give maybe a better place/idea for you, as I'm not a UKer.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 02:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

Thanks erm its not essential that its from that site, but I was buying speakers from there too thats all.. which is the best for me that you can see from the play.com site?
ministrike is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

The best of them would obviously be the corsair 450vx..... but its 60 pounds.

The Play.com (UK) : CiT 400U / 400W / PSU / Power Supply Unit / Gold : Computing - Free Delivery will do for your system
I'd suggest maybe
43 pounds Play.com (UK) : Xigmatek NRP-PC402 / 400W / PSU / Power Supply Unit : Computing - Free Delivery
or
53 pounds Play.com (UK) : OCZ OCZ400SXS-EU / StealthXStream / 400W / ATX / Power Supply Unit / PSU : Computing - Free Delivery

But the first will do... I'm just psu cautious.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 03:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

Thanks for all your help
ministrike is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 03:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading PSU...need help

No prob.. my only concern is the Cit ones Amps, but it'll be as good and a bit more than your old one.

Have you checked all other possibilities of bad/high temps?

Before you order, use coretemp and gpuz to check your temps... Also maybe d/l memtest86 to check your ram for errors.

Memtest Memtest86+ Bootable CD-ROM ISO - 2.01 Download - EXTREME Overclocking
coretemp Core Temp
gpuz GPU-Z Video card GPU Information Utility
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this PSU work? 1mike System Upgrades 17 07-10-2009 05:56 PM
Upgrading PSU and MOBO Blitersety New Systems | Building and Buying 17 09-22-2008 07:29 PM
Need help re upgrading Abertil New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-02-2008 04:27 PM
malfunctioning psu harry0591 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2008 08:43 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.