Upgrading PSU, mobo, CPU - How powerful do I need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2011, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Upgrading PSU, mobo, CPU - How powerful do I need?

I currently have a 600W PSU by Xilence Power.

I've recently upgraded to a more powerful video card (HD 5700 series) and since then, when I start up my computer, it does not start up right away and instead my hard drive makes about 15 whirring noises (like it's starting up but then winds down) before POSTing and starting up. I was told it was my PSU's lack of power causing it.

Now I want to upgrade to an ASUS AM3 mobo and Phenom II x4 processor.
What is a recommended PSU wattage?

Someone said 6 cores is not needed for gaming. World of Warcraft requires CPU power in 25 people raids. I have a dual core 2.2 GHz and my FPS drops to under 10 FPS. What would fix it? x4 core with more GHz or x6 with less GHz than the x4?
__________________

talaan is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading PSU, mobo, CPU - How powerful do I need?

A 600 watt psu from a reliable manufacturer should be enough but you may want to go higher for future upgrades.

This is only $79.99 after a rebate
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply

This is only $94.99 after a rebate
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.2 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading PSU, mobo, CPU - How powerful do I need?

I mainly want to upgrade my CPU, which also means a new Motherboard. And maybe RAM. This mobo I'm looking at supports DDR3 memory, but I only have DDR2.

ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Would that motherboard accept DDR2 RAM?

Nevermind I looked that up! DDR3 mobo will not take DDR2 RAM
talaan is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading PSU, mobo, CPU - How powerful do I need?

No it won't. If your going to upgrade then DDR3 would be a wise investment.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Upgrading PSU, mobo, CPU - How powerful do I need?

A good 600w psu by corsair, antec... will be enough to power your system. Your 600W PSU by Xilence is really crappy quality and is only like 350w-400w compared to a quality psu.

Also for WoW, an Intel cpu runs better than AMD. Having a x4 core will be enough, so x6 core is not needed.

Here is a review of hardware for WoW if you want to take a look.
World Of Warcraft: Cataclysm--Tom's Performance Guide : Welcome To The World...Of Warcraft: Cataclysm
brinks is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 08:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading PSU, mobo, CPU - How powerful do I need?

I'm looking to upgrade my CPU, Mobo, PSU, and RAM for under $500.

My current processor is AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+. I'm not sure if an Intel processor would bring me over 500, as I've only looked at AMD and Phenom processors seem to have a nice deal.

What Intel processor would be equivalent to Phenom II x4?

I currently do not have a case fan because this case does not support one (it has a vent over the CPU). Do I need to worry about case sizes or cooling if I upgrade?
talaan is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Upgrading PSU, mobo, CPU - How powerful do I need?

For Intel cpu, you should go with socket 1155, core i5/i7 but their cpu's are $200+. It's kind of hard to compare cpu from Intel and Amd right now since Amd cpu's are 1 to 2 generations behind Intel right now in performance.

Amd right now has good price/performance cpu, you can't really go wrong with their cpu. Maybe get Phenom II x4 955/965.

For case size, if it can fit an atx motherboard than you should be ok. As for cooling, you might run into heat issues if you don't have adequate cooling/air flow.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Mobo|CPU|Ram - help? prauch2k System Upgrades 7 10-24-2009 02:00 PM
Looking to get a cheap/sm-powerful AMD mobo+CPU combo DavidJC New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-03-2009 09:38 PM
upgrading my MOBo ciroc New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-14-2006 12:39 AM
Upgrading Mobo and CPU Foller System Upgrades 4 07-13-2006 12:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.