Upgrading Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2010, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Upgrading Processor

I'm looking to upgrade my computer by changing to a better processor. Just want to know if my motherboard EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard is compatible with the processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80580Q9505

I currently have a Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80557E6600 in my computer but it's been a longtime since I've worked on a computer and want to make sure I don't mess something up.

If there is anything else that would help along with the cpu or if there is a better route to go for the same amount of performance increase, any input would be appreciated.

Thank you
__________________

Sheltant is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 04:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Upgrading Processor

Yes it will work.
__________________

__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading Processor

Thank you
Sheltant is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading Processor

No it won't, the 680i chipset can NOT use 45nm quads

From e vga
Quote:
Socket 775:

Wolfdale **
E8600 - 1333 FSB - 3.33 GHz
E8500 - 1333 FSB - 3.16 GHz
E8400 - 1333 FSB - 3.00 GHz
E8300 - 1333 FSB - 2.83 GHz
E8200 - 1333 FSB - 2.66 GHz
E7400 - 1066 FSB - 2.80 GHz
E7300 - 1066 FSB - 2.66 GHz
E7200 - 1066 FSB - 2.53 GHz


Kentsfield
QX6850 - 1333 FSB - 3.00 GHz
QX6800 - 1066 FSB - 2.93 GHz
QX6700 - 1066 FSB - 2.66 GHz
Q6700 - 1066 FSB - 2.66 GHz
Q6600 - 1066 FSB - 2.40 GHz


Conroe
X6800 - 1066 FSB - 2.93 GHz
E6700 - 1066 FSB - 2.66 GHz
E6600 - 1066 FSB - 2.40 GHz
E6420 - 1066 FSB - 2.13 GHz
E6400 - 1066 FSB - 2.13 GHz
E6320 - 1066 FSB - 1.86 GHz
E6300 - 1066 FSB - 1.86 GHz


Presler, Smithfield, Cedarmill and Prescott family processors are not fully tested on the 6 series motherboards.

Yorkfield Core 2 Quad processors are not supported on the 6 series motherboards.

** The latest BIOS update is necessary to run Wolfdale Core 2 processors
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Upgrading Processor

My mistake. I was overlooking that 45nm. I was looking at the socket type.
__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading Processor

I'm glad you mentioned that, didn't know for sure if that mattered or not. Do you have any good suggestions of a good replacement?
Sheltant is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 11:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading Processor

If youre gaming a high clocked dual core, or just buy a good cooler and overclock your quad. I run mine at 3.2Ghz easily.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading old processor, need help GhOsT1321 System Upgrades 4 06-26-2010 11:03 AM
Upgrading the processor ougrad02 System Upgrades 3 02-27-2008 06:27 PM
upgrading my processor? Nethellan System Upgrades 7 10-28-2006 05:46 PM
Upgrading a Processor AZNRockThis New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-10-2006 11:10 AM
Upgrading Processor shawn316 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 10-05-2003 04:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.