Upgrading the processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2008, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Default Upgrading the processor

I currently have an hp d4100y desktop with a pentium D processor. I am curious if its possible for me to purchase a core 2 duo processor and swap it in, in place of the pentium D. I'm just curious as to whether the motherboard I have is compatible with the core 2 processor and if it would just be a situation of drop it in and go. Thanks ahead of time for any help.

Jeff
__________________

ougrad02 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Upgrading the processor

According to the HP website:

Socket: 775
Supports Pentium D (Smithfield) up to 3.2 GHz and Pentium4 (Prescott) up to 580 and 670

According to the socket type, you should be able to do an upgrade to a core 2 processor, but their website is slightly confusing. Try calling HP and find out! =)

Also, if you do an upgrade, you may require a reformat and reinstall of windows just to ensure nothing is affected in a wrong way when you make the upgrade.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Upgrading the processor

Doubtful. Your motherboard has a Intel 945P chipset. While some 945P mobos on NewEgg support C2D, many don't. The only BIOS update listed for your model does not mention C2D, only "newer Intel Processors." Since it is dated May '06, i doubt it includes C2D.

A call to HP should clear it up, thoguh.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading the processor

Agreed with Trotter, it is unlikely that any company would allow support for a stepped up processor, because that would be more expensive in the manufacturing.
B.S.O.D. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about upgrading processor! bonoz System Upgrades 9 01-15-2008 05:37 AM
Upgrading processor escallui System Upgrades 5 11-10-2007 11:58 PM
Upgrading Motherboard and processor. HDD switch question BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-28-2007 01:16 AM
Upgrading motherboard, processor and RAM Uberg New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-03-2007 07:03 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.