Upgrading procesor - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2015, 02:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Upgrading procesor

I only said what I said because I wanted to use the cache pun.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 02:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Upgrading procesor

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I only said what I said because I wanted to use the cache pun.
Ah, I missed it first time round. Hehe :P
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 03:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Vinny Vite Vichy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada eh?
Posts: 84
Default Re: Upgrading procesor

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Cache is very small amounts of memory on the CPU itself that is extremely fast compared to that of system RAM. The system "caches" small bits of data that it is currently using there. Cache doesn't really mean much in gaming when comparing it to the importance of single threaded performance or a GPU.

Explained perfectly thank you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
In computing, you have a hierarchy of storage, ordered in terms of capacity, latency, and cost. A cache is a is a component used for storage that is faster than forms of storage above it; the example PP gave is CPU cache compared to RAM. The tradeoff for increased speed is that the cache will have a much smaller capacity, and increase in cost.

RAM comes in multi-gigabyte capacities, takes between 10 and 100 nanoseconds to read or write to, and costs about $0.03 per megabyte.
CPU cache is usually less than 10 megabytes in a normal desktop CPU, takes less than 10 nanoseconds to read or write to, and costs in the range of a dollar per megabyte.



Here's a good diagram this illustrates the point:

And you added the bit more I needed to know, and some stuff to research to learn more. Thank you
Vinny Vite Vichy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 12:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: Upgrading procesor

I just learned something as well.
__________________

acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incoporating laptop procesor and ram into a cheap old model... Conroe System Upgrades 8 08-23-2006 03:36 AM
my procesor lost SSE2 instructions! wildwobby Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 01-29-2006 01:17 AM
Procesor Clock and other Newbie doubts Sparda_X Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-23-2004 11:54 PM
Upgrading Old Computer technodude Overclocking and Modding 4 08-20-2002 09:59 AM
Kernel32.dll Invalid page faults while upgrading from Win 98 to Win 2000 pro bill1127 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-02-2002 10:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.