Upgrading PC advice needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 04:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default Upgrading PC advice needed

Hi. I'm looking to upgrade my PC. I have budget of upto £200 (cheaper the better). Here are my current specs:

P4VT8+ Motherboard (Socket 478)
2.2 Gig Celeron
512 MB DDR Ram (2x 256 sticks in, with a 3rd slot open)
Radeon 9550
Q-tec 450w Psu (Might need this replacing)

Currently, my computer runs horrible. For instance: WarRock has recommended specs of 2 gig processor and a 9200 radeon. However, even on all low it is still unplayable. Also, I'm lucky to get a decent FPS (50+) on old games such as TFC and CS.

I mainly want to upgrade to be able to play battlefield 2 and 2142 (doesn't have to be super high settings, I'm sure medium will be fine as long as I can get into firefights without my comp turning into a slide show)

Thanks
__________________

Shrimp is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 05:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Adding another gig of RAM will help with Battlefield... it's a hog.

Definately upgrade your graphics card if at all possible. Go for the best you can afford, like a 7600GS or a 7800GS.

A better CPU wouldn't hurt, but you are on a tight budget. If you get the chance to get a P4 (not Celeron), grab it. Even at the same clock speed it will outperform your Celeron.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 07:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

yes upgrade to a 7600 gs http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0
i recently got one and its a great budget card. But that one ( link)is pci-e so it might not fit into your mobo.
Also maybe this proccesser:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...roductID=39680
and then you got £80 to spend on ram
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 07:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default

Thanks Would that 7600 GS be good enough for BF2/2142 though?

Those 2 added up comes to £130. That leaves upto £70 for more ram, a heatsink and a new psu... Can't see it working
Shrimp is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 08:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

okay maybe not that cpu but the 7600 gs would probably be able to handle battlefield 2 on medium settings this is just a geuss as i dont have battlefield2....ooops sorry im terrible at maths ... you'll probably have to get a worse proccesser then in order to fit your budget.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 08:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default

I was reading my motherboard manual and I saw this under memory:

PC2100 (DDR266) for 3 DDR DIMM slots , Max. 3GB
PC2700 (DDR333) for 2 DDR DIMM slots , Max. 2GB
PC3200 (DDR400) for 1 DDR DIMM slots , Max. 1GB

The thing is, currently I have:

2x 256 MB (2700) currently

Would I be able to add a 1 gig (2700) stick or would I have to get rid of a 256 stick to make room?
Shrimp is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 10:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

If you can swing it, get 2 sticks of one gig and replace your RAM. You can always sell your RAM that you have dirt cheap to someone who needs it.

If you buy the CPU that sailpog suggested, you will reuse your current heatsink/fan. Just be sure to remove the old thermal paste/pad and replace it with fresh.

The 7600GS should run both on medium settings just fine.you could always get a 7800GS, but it is £147.76 (ex VAT), £173.62 (inc VAT).
http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0

EDIT: Here's links to a couple of cards from scan:
256MB Leadtek 7600GT £94.69 Ex VAT, £111.26 Inc VAT
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=462642

256MB XFX 7600GS (preorder, due 29/09/2006) £57.00 Ex VAT, £66.98 Inc VAT
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=443219
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.