Upgrading PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2006, 07:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Don't put that RAM in your new system. It will really slow it down.

To find your PSU, open up the side of your case and look at the PSU. There should be a sticker on it that tells the wattage, the voltage on each of the rails (3.3V, 5V, 12V), etc. If you could take a picture of it and post it, it would be really helpful. However, I would assume that it is pretty weak, especially if it is from a premade computer like a dell, sony, hp, emachines, etc.

If you can spend a little over $500, I would suggest getting a new PSU.
this one has enough power for what I recommended
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 09:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

vybuni knows whats up
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

that system vybuni suggested looks really good. For 500 bucks, that will be a big improvement over what you have right now.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

PSU: 450W
skeetdude is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 05:12 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
There should be a sticker on it that tells the wattage, the voltage on each of the rails (3.3V, 5V, 12V), etc. If you could take a picture of it and post it, it would be really helpful.
we need more info on your psu. 450watt psu's can range from $10 to $100. if you're not able to take a picture, then tell us what Amps are on each rail..

example: +3.3V@32A, +5V@40A, +12V1@19A, +12V2@19A, -12V@1A, +5VSB@2A
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.