Upgrading from onboard graphics! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2008, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Upgrading from onboard graphics!

Hello all! I have a couple of questions haha. First, I will do my best to explain the current state of my troubles! I currently reside in Panama City, Panama and the resources here for building a nice custom PC at a decent price are scarse. The prices for electronics are much higher here than alot of other countries, especially in the states. As for buying on the internet and shipping, out of the question...

I am wondering what the best, or if not need to be BEST, graphics card I can buy that will work well for computer, budget being $200 with a little room, but I have no problem spending more for cooling and power components(if you could suggest some?). I will probably use it mainly just for gaming with the newer better games out there, but also it would be nice to have an HD option as I plan to buy a 1080p monitor if plausable. my computer specs (custom built by a local computer hardware store) :

Mobo: ASRock ALiveNF6P-VSTA , it does have one PCI-E.
CPU: AMD ATHLON 64 DUAL CORE 2.0GHZ 3800+
Memory: Super Talent 2GB DDR2 DIMM PC2-5300 (667Mhz)
HardDrive: Seagate 160GB

This is the best store I have been to and been recommended to go to, here is the link to their Card selection: YotecComputers

I have read a lot of the minimum requirements for these new games like Red Alert 3, Dead Space, etc..and they seem pretty demanding! I can live without those if I have to, but would I be REALLY limiting myself by keeping with my current setup and having to pass on more and more games, or should I maybe start from scratch?(would hate to do that!) I realize I do not have the best setup, but not necesarily the worst either. Any replies and help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED.

Thanks again!!
__________________

james.wired is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Upgrading from onboard graphics!

Yoytec Computer

that's the best card you can get for the money, which really isn't that over priced in comparision to the states.

Yoytec Computer
if you can stretch your budget a bit this is the best card in terms of price/performance.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Upgrading from onboard graphics!

Thanks for the reply!
Both of the cards you posted require a PCI-E 2.0 slot ..does that pose an issue for me? Also, can my motherboard and CPU support 512MB GDDR3 SDRAM 256bit cards?
james.wired is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Upgrading from onboard graphics!

2.0 is backwards compatible with 1.0 which is what you probably have. and yes its gddr3 so your board has nothing to do with your graphic ram. only your motherboard ram.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Upgrading from onboard graphics!

Oh that's good news then haha..how about cooling/power? Should I be worried if my CPU is too slow for the graphics card and these new games I want to play?
james.wired is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Upgrading from onboard graphics!

it might be a bit of a bottleneck but i don't think it will be too bad. also what are you running for a powersupply as that might create a problem.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 09:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Upgrading from onboard graphics!

For power I have a $14 ANLIX P4 ATX 350W from 2006. As far as cooling I honestly dont know what I have plugged in, so I took a picture...not sure if that will help, but if it is dated at the same as my mobo and power supply, then my guess is that it's something around a '06 AMD Socket AM2 compatible cooler.

Any suggestions for upgrades if I need them?
YoytecComputer-Power Components
YoytecComputer - Cooling Components

Also, I am pretty sure i will be buying a Viewsonic 1080p monitor, so should I get the Sapphire ATI Radeon HD4850 that you suggested (because it has the HDMI)?

Thanks again!!
james.wired is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 09:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Upgrading from onboard graphics!

I think I have come to the same conclusion haha. I suppose if I need to ask these many questions on whether or not upgrades will ruin my mobo or processor, I should just get new ones! It's so expensive down here though! I will figure it out, expect me to be back with more questions though haha.

thanks for the help!
james.wired is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 02:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading from onboard graphics!

My best friend is Panamanian. He curses left and right about the prices there. I'm Cuban so I can't really say anything LOL
__________________

Valdeam is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE! cooleddy4 System Upgrades 10 10-12-2008 11:08 AM
Best onboard graphics option for an Intel mobo? blue-lynx New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-01-2008 08:08 PM
Upgrading Gateway Desktops Graphics Squidslime System Upgrades 9 08-04-2008 10:30 AM
Onboard Graphics Card? Shiinji Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-17-2008 01:10 PM
over clocking onboard graphics vanhalen Overclocking and Modding 3 06-18-2007 06:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.