Upgrading Old Reliable - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2008, 09:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

1: it's not bad, not the best obviously but still quite good.
2:no, a 64bit os just allows you to have more then 3.5gb of ram, since you won't have that you do not need a 64b os.
3:it will feel like a major upgrade to you but no, it will not be high performancem, maybe around low med.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 11:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

Quote:
^Just so you know that is without HDD so you would have to add another $49.99.
Thanks, but wrong, heh, I do have a 160GB SATA HDD lying around, if I rebiuld using these, I can put it to use.
I think I'll rebuild using AMD. Seems good. I've always been Intel though. Might be a AMD guy soon.
__________________

Messiah is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
1: it's not bad, not the best obviously but still quite good.
2:no, a 64bit os just allows you to have more then 3.5gb of ram, since you won't have that you do not need a 64b os.
3:it will feel like a major upgrade to you but no, it will not be high performancem, maybe around low med.
Looks quit good to me, I have had things together to rebuild, but never did. Actually, this stuff is just as good, or better that the other parts I was going to use. They come cheaper too.
If the Intergraded GPU is not very good, I could always get another. Looks good, I've been craving that HDMI slot in a GPU
Probably way better than I got now anyways.

Wait, the RAM you suggested, I can use it, but what about the type of RAM NewEGG says it generaly takes...

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Is it faster or something?
Messiah is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

^if your getting 4gb of ram get a 64bit os, yes that ram has faster mhz but the timings are upped so it will be slower then 800mhz ram, i reccomend just getting 800mhz ram.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom 9600 Agena 2.3GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Quad-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

I found this 4-Core possessor, should I get it instead? Its newer, but the cores rune at 2.3GHzI don't know if that's good, but there is 4 cores.. Heck I don't even know what a core is, I think its like another possessor, in one. like 4 core means 4 possessors in one? Am I right?

(What I go by is what I've learned, and higher ratings and numbers )
Messiah is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:29 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
^if your getting 4gb of ram get a 64bit os, yes that ram has faster mhz but the timings are upped so it will be slower then 800mhz ram, i reccomend just getting 800mhz ram.
Alright, seems good. I'll go wih the other, cheaper anyways.
Messiah is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:40 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

Quote:
I found this 4-Core possessor, should I get it instead? Its newer, but the cores rune at 2.3GHzI don't know if that's good, so good, but there is 4 cores.. Heck I don't even know what a core is, I think its like another possessor, in one. like 4 core means 4 possessors in one? Am I right?
i am never going to reccomend an amd quad core so no i would say stick with the other cpu. You sorta right, the four cores are like 4 cpu's, but it only benefits in applications and games if they are multi threaded or quad core optimized, and at the moment not many are, but very soon that will change. It's up to you if you want to get that quad core but im against it. If you want a quad core go intel and a new mobo.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 01:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

I'll just go with the Dual core then, so is AMD as good, or better than Intel? Since I'm going througt with rebuilding with AMD I'll get to use it for a while.
Theres probably alot of debates of which ones better. Like the PS3 and the 360. Though, most of it has died, and the PS3 came out on top, as usual.
Messiah is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 01:25 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

intel is better then amd at the moment. There really isn't much debat about it because it is clear.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 11:47 AM   #20 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Upgrading Old Reliable

WOAH, some one just recommended my CPU : D

By the way Intel beats AMD at the moment and there is no debate over that. But the thing is AMD just prices their CPU's fairly low so that people still buy it. So when that 4800+ 2.5ghz Dual Core is 60$ with Free Shipping and the competing E7200 is 130$ and they have the same clock speeds. Of course Intel performs better. Just not 70$ better if you get what I m saying. On the other hand Intel is Raping AMD when it comes to the Quads and AMD is trying desperately to bring out a decent Quad or even Tri Core.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Power Supply on DELL - Curse them. Snoobies New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-12-2008 12:18 AM
Upgrading help odie072 System Upgrades 4 01-14-2008 04:33 PM
Upgrading my system..a few questions yamahammer342 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-13-2007 11:04 PM
Most reliable mother for sli janoloco New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-18-2007 01:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.