upgrading old processor, need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2010, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default upgrading old processor, need help

I am upgrading the processor in a HP Pavillion 533w
Info on the computer Here
Motherboard Here

I applied thermal paste, the chip is in correctly, and there were no bent pins or broken pins.
The old processor is a 2.0 Ghz, the new one is a 2.5Ghz
When I turn the computer on (with the new processor in) it says "Entering Power Save Mode" and then turns off
Did I do something wrong or overlook something?

I think i found the problem
the CPU I put in had a BUS Speed of 533 MHz
my Proc. Front Side Bus Freq. is 400 MHz
Would this be the problem?
__________________

GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: upgrading old processor, need help

Can you supply a link to the CPU your trying to use.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: upgrading old processor, need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Can you supply a link to the CPU your trying to use.
Here IS a Link
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: upgrading old processor, need help

That's a Northwood CPU. Even though the FSB is 533 vs the mobo's 400, it ought to work.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: upgrading old processor, need help

You should look for an updated bios. You'll probably have to re-install your old cpu, flash the bios, re-install the new cpu.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
Worth upgrading to the i7? csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-05-2008 09:09 PM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM
Help With Upgrading RichM499 Overclocking and Modding 23 10-29-2008 01:37 PM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.