Upgrading Old PC... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2005, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to One_mic021
Default Upgrading Old PC...

Hey everyone I was wondering if you could give me an opinion on upgrading an old computer.

I have an old Dell 8200 that I would like to upgrade...

The specs are:

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
1.8 ghz Pentium 4 Processor
Dimension 8200 motherboard (not sure on specifics)
512mb pc800 RDRam
Nvidia Ti4600 128mb Graphics Card
40gb 7200rpm Maxtor HD
120gb 7200rpm Western Digital HD
48x CD-R/RW burner
Creative Sb Live! Sound Card

I don't know for sure about the power supply, but I believe Dell Dimension 8200's generally have a 250 Watt.

I know I would be best of getting a new rig, but I'm trying to milk the life out of this old system for maybe 1 more year.

I would like to upgrade my ram to 1gb
Upgrade my video to a 6600gt
Install a new power supply
and add a DVD burner.

Would this be feasible? Any thoughts or reccomendations would be appreciated.

I have attached my SiSoft Sandra System Summary if you need more information.



SiSoftware Sandra

Host Name : TATIE1109
User : Ray
Domain : DONHOME

Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
Speed : 1.80GHz
Performance Rating : PR1975 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Internal Data Cache : 8kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 4-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 256kB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

Bus(es) : X-Bus AGP PCI IMB USB i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
System BIOS : Dell Computer Corporation A05
System : Dell Computer Corporation Dimension 8200
Mainboard : Dell Computer Corporation Dimension 8200
Total Memory : 512MB RDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Dell Computer Corp 82850/E Host-Hub Interface Bridge Device (A3-step)
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 100MHz (400MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 512MB RDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 400MHz (800MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600
Imaging Device : Chameleon Mega Video Camera
Imaging Device : Chameleon Mega Digital Camera

Physical Storage Devices
Removable Drive : Floppy disk drive
Hard Disk : MAXTOR 6L040L2 (37GB)
Hard Disk : WD 1200BB External USB Device
CD-ROM/DVD : LITE-ON LTR-24102M (CD 40X Rd, 24X Wr)

Logical Storage Devices
1.44MB 3.5" (A : 37GB (20GB, 53% Free Space) (NTFS)
Cod2cd1 (D : 112GB (57GB, 51% Free Space) (FAT32)

Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 2 COM / 1 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(r) 82801BA/BAM USB Universal Host Controller - 2442
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(r) 82801BA/BAM USB Universal Host Controller - 2444
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub : USB Mass Storage Device
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse : PS/2 Compatible Mouse
Human Interface : HID-compliant game controller
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : Creative SB Live! Value (WDM)
Device : Creative SBLive! Gameport

Communication Device(s)
Device : Lucent Win Modem

Printers and Faxes
Model : Auto hp psc 2100 series on THESON

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Home (Win32 x86) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Adapter : 3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 PCI For Complete PC Management NIC (3C905C-TX)

Performance Tips
Tip 2546 : Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.

One_mic021 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694

I found some RAM for $195.00 here

The video card for $169.00 here (assuming AGP)

Power supply $50-$100

Any DVD burner $35-50$

$450 upgrade.... seems pricey. You can get 2gig of PC3200 RAM for the cost of that RD-RAM. the PC3200 wont fit your Mobo

If i were you and i really wanted to upgrade this machine, i would forget the ram and power supply. Just go for the video card and the DVD burner.

If you don't have enough power to run your upgrades, then you can worry about a power supply.

thats still $200 for a one-year upgrade. thats pretty expensive.

Final recommendation:
1. Just wait.
2. Build a monster of a machine when you do build.
3. Don't waste money on that old Dell.

BTW: Why do you need to upgrade? Newer games?

Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to One_mic021

yeah mainly to get about a year more of gaming life out of it.

Games like Swat 4, COD 2 etc.
One_mic021 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to One_mic021

I bought another 512mb of ram, 500 watt power supply, and a BFG 6600GT OC(Agp).

Now im thinking about buying a new processor. I'v seen other people with Dimension 8200's upgrading to 2.8 ghz. Anybody know which processor would be best?


One_mic021 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
bonehelm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612

well, according to Dell.com, it told me that you can only have intel pentium 4's and 2.8Ghz will be the max that it supports.
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 02:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon

If you're just trying to stretch this machine for another year or so, I'd skip on the CPU upgrade. Save your money for a newer better machine later. Maybe throw in another hard drive as a slave. Move your My Documents and other files to that drive, keeping only your OS and installed program files on your small drive.
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to One_mic021

I will do as you say with my other hard drive.

I'll just wait it out for another year. Thanks for the help everybody.

One_mic021 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.