Upgrading an old pc. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2010, 03:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Upgrading an old pc.

Hello everyone. I'm in process of up grading a fairly old pc. My problem is I don't know if the certain parts I'm looking at purchasing, will work with the motherboard at hand. So I was hoping that if I supplied all of the necessary links of info, you guys could tell me if all of the parts are compatible?

So here is the motherboard: Intel D915GAV It's old, I know.

Here are the parts I'm looking to purchase:

SAPPHIRE 100283L Radeon HD 5770

Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W

Rendition by Crucial 1GB DDR2

So will those three parts work with the intel board?
__________________

NickolasDS is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Upgrading an old pc.

Nope. That motherboard uses DDR, the memory you have selected is DDR2.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading an old pc.

and the mobo doesn't have any pci-e x16 slots for the gfx card.

for the psu, you would probably need to tell us what model # your pc is, to look it up and check to see if your case supports atx psus.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Upgrading an old pc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
and the mobo doesn't have any pci-e x16 slots for the gfx card.

for the psu, you would probably need to tell us what model # your pc is, to look it up and check to see if your case supports atx psus.
I thought it didn't at first, but it turns out that it does.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading an old pc.

oh yea, i see it now. i just looked at the "expansion capabilities" and only saw pci and x1 slots listed, the x16 is hidden in the small paragraph above.

kmote's right, you do have a x16 slot for the gfx card.

the psu might still be an issue though.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading an old pc.

I missed the DDR2 bit. Thanks for that.

I'm pretty sure the video card was the right size, but I was worried that somehow the size of it wouldn't fit with the tower. Like the back wouldn't properly connect or something.

It's an Enspire Active Cool Gaming Case Mid Tower. I can't find any stats on it, or even an image. It's a gray case, with blue LCDs (if you can manage to find a copy).
NickolasDS is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 09:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Upgrading an old pc.

You'll need to measure inside the case to make sure the card will fit length-wise but the back should be fine as long as you have a couple of slots open at the PCI-e x16 slot.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 09:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading an old pc.

Yes, there is two slots that look to be available for the back of the card. I also did measure before hand, and it was small enough.

Also, a few more inquiries...

Does this ram seem acceptable?

PQI POWER Series 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400

For the PSU, should I measure the size of the unit I have now and compare it to the one I want to purchase?
__________________

NickolasDS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help upgrading my pc!! oha055 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-13-2010 06:34 PM
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.