Upgrading Old Desktop Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2007, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

so I will be building a new desktop(read: after the wedding next year lol) so in the meantime I want to upgrade the memory of my POS desktop

Im wondering if this is a good decision or if i should hold off

specs of said POS:

Intell P3 1.0GHz
256MB PC100/133 RAM (dont laugh at me )
Voodoo graphics card(again dont laugh at me lol)


I use this mainly for my home office and I use it for web browsing and office 2003 apps

so I could care less

I just need more memory because available memory left to play with is 30MB!!!! lol

I was thinking upgrading to 512 or higher???

any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
some old out dated P.O.S.
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default Re: Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

oh and is there a way to tell what type of memory (as in pc100 or pc133 or whatever) WITHOUT opening the case???
__________________

__________________
some old out dated P.O.S.
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 03:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

everest home should tell you all your system specs . Is you ram ddr2??? if it is ddr then don't spen much money as ddr is the old standard so wont have a use in your next pc.


Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 04:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

I agree with saltynay, ddr is being phased out. It'd just be a waste if you bought more ddr. tho it wouldnt cos much just to get another 512 stick. Or, if u really dont want to pay, i have a 256mb 133 card u could have, depending on where u iz ...
btw, if you want to add something to your thread, just click the edit button!
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 08:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

It is a P3, so of course it's not DDR2. Since when does DDR2 come in PC100/133???

PC100/PC133 is SDRAM, which has 168 pins. DDR has 184 pins, while DDR2 has 240 pins.

You can get SDRAM on NewEgg. Sticks of 256 start around $30, so it is a quick and cheap upgrade.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 09:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Re: Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

Thank you trotter for clearing that up...man i was about to blow up...ddr2 running at pc100...WTF? that was just really bugging me reading this topic
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 12:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default Re: Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

thanks for recommending the program...I did do a search but it didnt turn up much

and most likely Ill probally end up going with a 512 stick and a 256 stick
__________________
some old out dated P.O.S.
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 12:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

lol I have only been in the pc game for about 8 months anything that is more then a year maybe 2 I don't know about
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 11:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading Old Desktop Memory

I tried the scan at crucial.com
Memory upgrades, graphics cards, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com

It does fair and tells you what is installed and what is available. THEN, research the best deal from there. A computer store in your town may have some sdram that you can pick up cheap. OH yeah if you use didfferent size sticks put the big one in the first slot as the computer accesses it first. never know...
__________________

devil7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM
Accessing programs from my desktop on my laptop mattd Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 04-12-2007 05:36 AM
Google Desktop Goes Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-06-2007 01:18 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.