Upgrading, need some wisdom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2010, 10:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Default Upgrading, need some wisdom

Hello everyone ! I need some input on what to upgrade in my current computer so it can be midrange worthy for gaming. My current downside is that I only have a 32-bit operating system so I know my ram is going to be gimped quite a bit. Heres my current specs:


AMD Athlon II X3 435
MSI AM3 Socket Mobo
2 Gigabyte Patriot Ram DDR3
nVidia 9500gt
stock power supply lol ..


I know my first step should be to upgrade my power supply and video card for immediate improvement so I was trying to figure out what would be better, an Ati card or nvidia? I play games like World of Warcraft, Starcraft 2 , Unreal 3 and trying to play Final Fantasy 14!

Im trying to keep the budget around 200-250 if thats possible ! Thank you again
__________________

advnt is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading, need some wisdom

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!

that would offer a pretty substantial upgrade for you, and would fit nicely in your budget.
__________________

__________________
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: Upgrading, need some wisdom

thank you muffin man !

is it okay to run the 460 with my cpu though? I always thought that if your amd u should run ati and intel run nvidia cause thats usually what i see in peoples systems but I could be horribly wrong. is there any reason to do so?
advnt is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 11:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading, need some wisdom

yes it will be fine, no issues at all.
__________________
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 01:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Upgrading, need some wisdom

What motherboard are you running? We can check to see if it is capable of unlocking the fourth core of your CPU, which may or may not work but it is worth a try. Unless it is an OEM...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 11:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: Upgrading, need some wisdom

FRYS.com*|*MSI

wow unlocking the 4th core would be great !
advnt is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 03:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: Upgrading, need some wisdom

I do some gaming with a older AMD dual core ( 3.0 ) with a 32 bit win7 Os- not high gaming , but still fun. So , don't let the 32 bit system put you off gaming. My kids play Starcraft 2 with the system without any lag on Medium-high settings.
acerinpa is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 03:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgrading, need some wisdom

I love that CPU, i'd say keep it, run 64 bit win 7, up your RAM to 4gb 1333mhz ddr3, and get an ATI Radeon 58xx video card and you should be able to play most games.

Starcraft 2 for sure - FFIV, iffy, you need alot for the HD online play, but if that's your thing its defiantly worth it
rawcomputers is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 12:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Upgrading, need some wisdom

According to MSI, your motherboard has ACC so it should be able to unlock your CPU if it is unlockable. I am not familiar with MSI's BIOS setup, so you will just have to much around in it to find it. My Asus board actually allows you to hit a certain key during bootup to access the unlocker.

There is no guarantee that your fourth core will unlock, but the odds are in your favor.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for Wisdom Wonderbox Technology Careers and Education 5 06-03-2009 10:17 PM
Newb Here - Looking for some Wisdom... ElCount Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 07-05-2007 09:01 PM
Wisdom Teeth Jorsoft Off Topic Discussion 5 06-14-2006 01:41 AM
One last bit of wisdom Nukem Off Topic Discussion 3 05-31-2006 05:56 PM
Bits of wisdom... Nukem Off Topic Discussion 2 05-31-2006 04:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.