Upgrading my PC - First Time - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2007, 08:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

Yes, ive read a single guide, went out and got some parts, came back, assembled it, went out again cause i forgot xp, installed it and booted: the rest is history...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

Well I have the serial # if you need it.

I think I had the computer for about 2-3 years. I got it for free when I did some training class.
__________________

Shiinji is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

plz post SN
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
plz post SN
I sent you a PM w/ it.
Shiinji is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

Shiinji PMed me
thats ddr333, its not worth upgrading

from support page:
Systemax Celeron-D 330 PC
Serial number: 105876755
Order number: 3451
Ship Date: 4-8-2005
Your Warranty Expires on: 4/8/2006


Your computer contains the following:
(1) Support Kit
(1) Mini-Tower mATX Chassis w/250W PS SIS651 Motherboard
(1) Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition w/ Service Pack 2
(1) Intel Celeron-D Processor 335 2.8GHz/533FSB/256K Cache
(1) 256MB DDR333 PC2700 Non-ECC Memory (256MB x 1)
(1) 40GB IDE Ultra ATA 7200rpm Hard Drive
(1) 52X32X52 CDRW Drive Black
(1) 17" .27 Black CRT Monitor
(1) 56K V.92 PCI Data/Fax Modem
(1) 104 Keyboard Black PS/2
(1) Systemax Scroll Mouse PS/2 Black
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

^So my best bet would to just get a new one?
Shiinji is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

save and then when the time is right, buy a cheap one or build one, both with guidance from tech forums
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

Alright, Thanks for the help.
Shiinji is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

no problem
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Upgrading my PC - First Time

Yeah, not a lot you can do with it. you can upgrade the RAM and hard drive, and maybe get a P4 CPU, but the socket was discontinued a while back.

Buying the parts for a new rig doesn't have to be super expensive, and you can buy some things as you go along, like the case/PSU, optical drives(s), hard drive, etc. you can also salvage from your current rig, unless you plan on keeping it around.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to Vista But Amd2800 Microsoft Windows and Software 33 05-13-2007 07:52 AM
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 09:11 PM
Time for a new build I believe! small256 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-13-2007 03:29 PM
Unique World's First Shipping Time Based Comparison Shopping pdqdeals Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-09-2007 04:33 AM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.