Upgrading My PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2015, 04:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default Upgrading My PC

Hello and thanks in advance for taking your time to read this post. For some time now I've found that I need to upgrade my PC to run some of the latest games, I'm just not sure what I should upgrade first. Any help would be appreciated.

Price Range: 250-300 (Can increase if necessary)

System Specs

Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
CPU
Intel Core i5 2300 @ 2.80GHz
Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
RAM
6.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
LENOVO To be filled by O.E.M. (CPU 1)
Graphics
ASUS VE278 (1920x1080@60Hz)
Generic Non-PnP Monitor (1024x768@60Hz)
1024MB ATI Radeon HD 5750 (Unknown)
Storage
931GB Seagate ST1000DM003-1CH162 (SATA)
PSU
Lenovo Acbel power rated 450W ultra quiet desktop computer PC7033 41A9722
Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH70N
Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio
Link
http://www.cnet.com/products/lenovo-...mhz-6mb/specs/
__________________

hodlkq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 05:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Upgrading My PC

Well the CPU should be fine for some time, You could use a few more gigs of ram but it may do ok with the 6 so basically a new GPU would be the best upgrade to play current games and a good power supply, These should be a good upgrade and close to your budget.
SeaSonic S12II 620 Bronze 620W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS 12V V2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com
EVGA 02G-P4-2962-KR GeForce GTX 960 Superclocked
2GB GDDR5 128bit, PCI Express 3.0 2 x Dual-Link DVI-I, DP, HDMI, SLI, HDCP, G-SYNC Ready Graphics Card - Newegg.com

as for your ram, I think there is a error with the DDR3 @ 665MHz, I'm guessing it is 1333 and if so I would add 2 gigs to have a total of 8 but will need to know exactly what you have to get the right ram. If you post up which Lenovo system you have it will help us know what is in there.

Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 05:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default Re: Upgrading My PC

Here it is: Lenovo IdeaCentre K330 77273HU Black Intel Core i5-2300 Specs - CNET
hodlkq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 06:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Upgrading My PC

His RAM is right, it's 1333.

A 960 could run fine off his current PSU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 08:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Upgrading My PC

Lol there is an error on that link. They say i5 2300 but then say socket 1156. WRONG hahaha.

What kind of budget are you working with?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a HD AND upgrading to XP. Which do I do first? MrSpiff Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-27-2002 12:27 AM
Upgrading Old Computer technodude Overclocking and Modding 4 08-20-2002 09:59 AM
Upgrading Old Computer technodude Overclocking and Modding 4 08-20-2002 09:59 AM
Kernel32.dll Invalid page faults while upgrading from Win 98 to Win 2000 pro bill1127 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-02-2002 10:19 PM
Kernel32.dll Invalid page faults while upgrading from Win 98 to Win 2000 pro bill1127 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-02-2002 10:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.