Upgrading my HP

Status
Not open for further replies.

rkymtnman30

Beta member
I have an HP that is a fairly good machine. I am studying game art at FSU which I use Adutdesk Maya, zBrush, Unreal and other such programs. I would like to upgrade my computer or I fear I will have to build one from the ground up to handle the workload. This is my computer as it sits: HP Pavilion a6700 Desktop PC series -  HP Pavilion a6757c Desktop PC Product Specifications - c01643541 - HP Business Support Center
I would like to increase the RAM I am working with add a second hard drive and a good video card. Is any of that possible? Or will I be better off building a machine from the ground up? I am fairly a noob to building or upgrading computers so I am sorry in advance for any and all stupid questions I may ask.

Well, Assuming you have any open slots for your RAM left since those specs say you already have 6gb's of RAM which seems like it should be enough for anything you would need, but yes you can put in more RAM, and you can also ad a new graphics card since you have an open PCI-Express port, but if it is a higher end one you need, you might need to also buy a larger power supply because it will require atleast a 6-pin PCI-E power errr adapter thing. And you also can add a second harddrive, just make sure that you order a SATA cable with it as most don't seem to come with one. One thing to remember about that though is that it wont show up in windows right away, you have to go into administrative tools and format it and then create a new volume on it.

Thank you for the rapid reply.
So each slot can only handle 2GB of RAM? Will any graphics card fit and how would I judge if I need a larger power supply? Also do you have an opinion of after market cooling of my processor?